Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-04, 03:18 PM   #13
tekkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: GLX problems

I knew it didn't do 3d, but I was willing to try anything. I still can't get GLX to load, and I think I've tried everything....even renaming the libglx.so file backwards. GLX would then load, allowing the X server to start, however, I still couldn't get anything working....

Im really starting to get frustrated with this, and am considering pulling out the ooooold rage 128 pro just to see if I have better luck...I really don't want to do that, because it's such a downgrade....any assistance would be helpful. I might just call nVidia and scream at them.....
tekkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 05:13 AM   #14
TomFrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: GLX problems

Hi there,

did you try the vputz-solution? It worked for me. Well, I am not 100% sure but it seemed only to work after I had re-installed the driver. Maybe you should try vputz again.

On a side note: I only experienced signal 11 errors when I had a TV connected to my card.

Good luck,

Tom
TomFrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 02:17 PM   #15
tekkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: GLX problems

Yes, I have tried the vPutz solution, and still haven't had any success....At least I have hi-speed internet now, I can troubleshoot a lot better when I don't have to switch back and forth to winblows...

Any other ideas? Or should I just jump on the bandwagon and up to FC2?
tekkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 07:29 PM   #16
tekkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: GLX problems----SOLVED!

Okay okay, I get it now....The purpose of using RedHat 9 was just to make me mad and jump to Fedora Core 2...It worked. AND SO DOES MY CARD!!! Okay sorry...well here's what we got now....

[root@cs6820192-112 root]# glxgears
4471 frames in 5.0 seconds = 894.200 FPS
4778 frames in 5.0 seconds = 955.600 FPS
4600 frames in 5.0 seconds = 920.000 FPS
4168 frames in 5.0 seconds = 833.600 FPS
4460 frames in 5.0 seconds = 892.000 FPS
4439 frames in 5.0 seconds = 887.800 FPS

I guess that's good, I don't know how accurate this test is supposed to be, but, yanno, Im just glad that 3D works.
tekkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 01:46 AM   #17
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: GLX problems

Just out of curiosity... What is the chipset on the motherboard??

I've had the Nvidia drivers running on RH9 way back since the (Nvidia Drivers) 2xxx days... So the problem is not RH9... MB's chipsets VIA/AMD no problems...

Wolf


PS: Good to see that at least you have it running on FC2..
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 03:46 PM   #18
tekkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: GLX problems

Chipset on the Mobo is a Via KT133...But I've flashed the BIOS for support for Athlon XP 2600+, since the original BIOS only supported up to Athlon XP 1800+ Maybe this will help?
As for today, the FPS have dropped significantly, down to an avg. 8.5 to 10.0fps, and 100% cpu utilization.....

Any takers on this one?
tekkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 08:30 PM   #19
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: GLX problems

Hmmm, The KT133 is an old chipset. I can't see why that should give you so much trouble. Sorry, but I don't have any other suggestions. However, if I come across anything I'll let you know.

Wolf

PS The Via chipset on this board I'm running here with RH9 is a KT400. And that seems to be running very well.
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 08:11 AM   #20
tekkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: GLX problems

Okay, it works again. Just changed the xorg.conf from NvAGP "3" to NvAGP "1" to force nVidia's internal chipset. I took a look at the syslog, and noticed that AGPART was already loaded (not sure why), and that NvAGP couldn't start. So I edited the xorg.conf to reflect the NvAGP 1 and then completely killed X and restarted it. Works fine now...[root@RHNWHMCPU root]# glxgears
4045 frames in 5.0 seconds = 809.000 FPS
4598 frames in 5.0 seconds = 919.600 FPS
4493 frames in 5.0 seconds = 898.600 FPS
4395 frames in 5.0 seconds = 879.000 FPS
4414 frames in 5.0 seconds = 882.800 FPS
X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
[root@RHNWHMCPU root]#
I don't suppose someone could give me some insight on better fps though? I've seen many places that show suggested fps aroung 1,300 to 1,500 fps w/ glxgears, standard window size. And YES, I know, glxgears isn't all that accurate....
tekkie is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.34 -- Xorg 1.12.1 & 1.11.4, glx module fails to load mereset NVIDIA Linux 17 06-10-12 01:24 AM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 12:03 PM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 06:45 AM
Problems with Mandrake and NVidia drivers..... xMonoxide187x NVIDIA Linux 2 08-22-02 01:55 PM
GLX problems el.Diablo NVIDIA Linux 5 08-02-02 11:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.