Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-04, 09:20 PM   #1
saintdev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default GeForce2 Go & Dual Monitors

I'm trying to setup dual monitors on my GF2 Go. Right now I have it working using TwinView (one desktop spanned across both monitors). My problem is I have my laptop display, and a 20" CRT. As I have it setup right now the CRT is running at 60Hz and it's killing my eyes. Also the spanning looks bad with two completely different displays. So I would like to do a normal (two desktop) setup like you would if you had two vid cards and weren't using Xinerama.

Attached is my xorg.conf that I've been trying to get this work with. AFAIK it should work with this setup, but doesn't. If I mess around with it I can get one of several things to happen. Either both displays are drawn to the CRT with one 'behind' the other (the LCD never even initalizes). Or I get the desktop cloned on both the LCD and CRT with the CRT running at full res while the lcd is 800x600 (or so) and pans around the cursor. The second display is still drawn behind the first though.

Also attached is my X startup log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (3.4 KB, 219 views)
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (38.3 KB, 150 views)
saintdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-04, 03:21 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: GeForce2 Go & Dual Monitors

First a small warning related to your videocard. The geforce2go is in fact a mobile geforce2mx. The geforce2mx was the first chip to feature twinview. In case of the first generation of twinview the second output was actually made for an lcd display at 1280x1024. Resolutions behind this might not work well as the second ramdac can't handle that. It won't give big problems in your case I think as when twinview is enabled the lcd of your laptop will be on the second output. (if you can't reach 1400x1050 when both outputs are used this might be the reason)

Now back to your real problem. The way you set up the config file is good except for one thing. X has no knowledge which physical screen (CRT/DFP) belongs to which screen section. Currently it associates Screen1 with the CRT monitor instead of the DFP (which you want I think because of the 1400x1050). This causes the bad refresh rate on the CRT I think as the log says something about 60Hz modes for this screen. To fix it add lines like this to the screen sections: Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP" and Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT". After this try again and also try lower resolutions just for testing. Once that works fine try higher ones.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-04, 05:26 AM   #3
saintdev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce2 Go & Dual Monitors

Awsome! Worked great. Got my laptop display running at 1400x1050 and my CRT running at 1600x1200. Thanks for the help.
saintdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with dual monitors on 302.17 edsrzf NVIDIA Linux 7 07-11-12 05:10 PM
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:04 PM
$565.00 - DoubleSight DS- 2200WA Piano Black 21.5" 5ms Widescreen Dual LED Monitors News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
$441.99 - DoubleSight DS- 2200WA Piano Black 21.5" 5ms Widescreen Dual LED Monitors News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 08:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.