Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-04, 07:59 PM   #13
kyleb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 364
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWFGestapo
Yes, although I put it up to 8s on the driver console thing and it works fine either way.
Well you just can't be getting good framerates with 8s at 1600x1200, something is off.
kyleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-04, 08:40 PM   #14
SWFGestapo
Archfiend for Rent
 
SWFGestapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere west of New York, NY
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to SWFGestapo
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleb
Well you just can't be getting good framerates with 8s at 1600x1200, something is off.
It drops lower with lots of people, but it never gets lower than 30 and averages mid50s. The original reports were a pure 'run through' of shooting around, moving and blowing stuff up.
__________________
In some remote corner of the universe, poured out and glittering in innumerable solar systems, there once was a star on which clever animals invented knowledge. That was the highest and most mendacious minute of "world history"yet only a minute. After nature had drawn a few breaths the star grew cold, and the clever animals had to die.
SWFGestapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-04, 08:55 PM   #15
zaG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 100
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

I play always w/ 1024x768 and use 4xAA/16AF/Vsync enabled with high details. Is that maybe t much ??? Play D00M absolutly smooth as silk (62fps).
zaG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-04, 10:28 PM   #16
SWFGestapo
Archfiend for Rent
 
SWFGestapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere west of New York, NY
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to SWFGestapo
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Lowest Framerate: CS Office, looking at the window right and forward of CT spawn, 30fps
Highest Framerate: Facing away from hallway (towards wall/stairs/rail) at entrance forward and right of CT spawn, 284fps
Apparently GeForce doesn't like that particular piece of glass.
__________________
In some remote corner of the universe, poured out and glittering in innumerable solar systems, there once was a star on which clever animals invented knowledge. That was the highest and most mendacious minute of "world history"yet only a minute. After nature had drawn a few breaths the star grew cold, and the clever animals had to die.
SWFGestapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-04, 10:58 PM   #17
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWFGestapo
Lowest Framerate: CS Office, looking at the window right and forward of CT spawn, 30fps
Highest Framerate: Facing away from hallway (towards wall/stairs/rail) at entrance forward and right of CT spawn, 284fps
Apparently GeForce doesn't like that particular piece of glass.
Do you have vsync enabled? If so whats your refresh rate?

Edit: ROFL! Stupid question! Your refresh rate cant be 285hz! Anyways, I was going to say that if you don't meet your refresh rate with vsync enabled then you get half the FPS of your refresh rate.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-04, 11:04 PM   #18
kev13dd
Registered User
 
kev13dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Anyone have any benchmarks from Source running a FX5900 or FX5900XT?

I've seen some valve tests, but not any CS:S benchmarks. Any settings, anything. Just wanna know if any of the resolutions will get me above 60fps average (here's hoping)

K

Last edited by kev13dd; 10-10-04 at 01:25 AM.
kev13dd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-04, 01:17 AM   #19
Euphoria
--- ephor ---
 
Euphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 197
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Do you guys know why I can not run the game in full screen?
I have the Leadtek 6800 gt runing at default with 61.77 Forceware.
AMD 2400xp @ 2.2GHz

Thanks
Euphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-04, 02:08 AM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
Edit: ROFL! Stupid question! Your refresh rate cant be 285hz! Anyways, I was going to say that if you don't meet your refresh rate with vsync enabled then you get half the FPS of your refresh rate.

That was pretty good

Some day we will have refresh rates like that
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-04, 05:47 AM   #21
faraday
Registered User
 
faraday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

Runs great for me at 1280x1024 everything at High in a 9800 pro stock, CPU also stock (AMD64 3000+) 512 ram.

And it does look sweet. Gona try AF after I flash this baby to a XT.
faraday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-04, 02:35 PM   #22
ihiktacos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Default Re: CS: Source runs really well

I was trying to do some benchmarking with the built-in Stress Test and I am having some weird issues.

Ok, so all the tests were run at 1024 x 768 (max of my LCD :/), with the 66.81 drivers.

Here are the results for my Athlon xp @ 2.2 Ghz using a softmodded 6800NU:

Core/mem no AA/2xAF 2xAA/2xAF 4xAA/4xAF 6xAA8xAF
350/700 102.6 99.1 94.4 102.8
400/800 103.1 100.6 99.6 102.9
425/800 103.2 103.2 103.1 102.7

Ok, so you can see that the OCing only helps when AA/AF is turned up, the CPU otherwise is the limiting factor (oc-ing the CPU more, increased the FPS indeed).

But check the last column, increasing the AA/AF increased the FPS suddenly! Well, I haven't had the time to check out the differences in image quality, but something is wrong here. Either CS:S does not use AA/AF, or something else is up :/

Btw, I did run these tests multiple times with the same results.

This might explain why some others in this thread seem to be able to run 16xAF/8AA with a very high framerate. The question is, is it really enabled?

I might try and compare a few frames and try to figure this out once I can be bothered to.
ihiktacos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valve's Source engine to power upcoming animated film News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 09:20 PM
Nvidia driver compilation for kernel.org source kernel GJAOUEN NVIDIA Linux 0 06-03-12 01:59 PM
An open source analogy: Open source is like sharing a recipe News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM
Dota 2 is bigger than Counter-Strike: Source and Skyrim and it's not even out yet News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 09:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.