Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-04, 09:32 AM   #1
Lion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default How to limit fps?

Hi I'm trying to get WipEout 2097 (WipEout XL to the american audience) working on my PC.
Unfortunately this was a very early 3D accelerated game meant primarily for voodoo class cards and there's no cieling on the framerate.. and the speed of the game is tied into that.
yikes

I need to find a way to lock the game down to 30FPS

So far the best I can manage is to play the game at twice normal speed by locking the refresh to 60Hz and syncing to refresh.
the ideal solution would be to cause my system to sync to every second refresh, this was a function enabled via a system variable on the old voodoo cards (SET SSTV2_SWAP_EN_WAIT_ON_VSYNC=2) where you could set a number to divide the sync by. eg, you could set it to 4 to get 30fps at 120Hz Does the forceware suite have something similar?

alternatively can anyone suggest any other ways of locking my framerate to 30FPS?

Thanks heaps for any help
Lion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 09:40 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: How to limit fps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lion
alternatively can anyone suggest any other ways of locking my framerate to 30FPS?
Yeah, do what I did. Get yourself a second PC, either Pentium II or K6-2 class and a 3dfx card. Install Windows 98 and enjoy the retro gaming love action. Unfortunately that's about the only way to get those really old games working again.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 09:49 AM   #3
Lion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to limit fps?

that's not really the kinda solution I'm after :P
even the CPU speed is irrelevant in this situation, it's so tantalizingly close to what I want already
I held some hope for the environmental variable "__GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK" from the linux nvidia drivers. but that doesn't seem to have any bearing when used in windows
Lion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 12:06 PM   #4
omzig
Comfortably Numb
 
omzig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 752
Default Re: How to limit fps?

You might want to give "mo slow" a try

http://www.geocities.com/kulhain/moslo132.zip

Its a utility to slow down your CPU so you dont get 10000000 FPS like your getting with WIPEOUT XL more info here

http://www.hpaa.com/moslo/

i used the above linked freeware version a few years ago under win98 but i have'nt tryed it under xp so your on your own if you decide to try it out

let us kown how you get on if you decide to try it out
omzig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 12:34 PM   #5
Graphicmaniac
GraphicLover
 
Graphicmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 533
Default Re: How to limit fps?

forcing aa and af to max and downclocking the gpu and ram a LOT doesn't work?
__________________
Support GeForce FX owners againts the unfair business of ATI & Valve vote for this petition!!!
http://www.petitiononline.com/nvidiafx/petition.html
Graphicmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 03:51 PM   #6
Lion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to limit fps?

to Graphicmaniac and omzig: the problem with both of those solutions is that the game speed becomes really inconsistent.
moslo doesn't play well with hyperthreading either. I think it's a single threaded app. for some reason locking the affinity to have them both on the first logical cpu doesn't seem to help.
and the video card underclocking and maxing out filters doesn't slow it enough to make any real difference.
Lion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 08:25 PM   #7
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: How to limit fps?

Hehe good luck with that game, the only thing that comes in mind is forcign V-Sync on and play at 60hz. but is still too fast for the game.

I dont think moslo or such things would work that good with the old game.

I once tried the game on my old puter before the upgrade (amd k6-2@266 and a Riva tnt 16mb agp) and even on that old rig the game was silly fast, wasnt playable.

Your best bet is to try and find the Psx version and run in in Epsxe, that works pretty good.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 08:30 PM   #8
wickfut
Registered User
 
wickfut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 167
Default Re: How to limit fps?

isnt there something that draws the screen twice or something in the nvidia settings - that may slow it down

also try lowering the 8x agp to pci mode ?

just installed wipeout 2097 - can you get the textures for the background working under xp ? i see the ships and the track but nothing more
__________________
Sinclair ZX81 , 16K Rampack , Fidelity Black and White TV , Amstrad tape recorder
wickfut is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-04, 08:40 PM   #9
wickfut
Registered User
 
wickfut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 167
Default Re: How to limit fps?

sorted - turn your hardware acceleration either down or off - i had it on the first notch and it played ok

now just got to get these textures working
__________________
Sinclair ZX81 , 16K Rampack , Fidelity Black and White TV , Amstrad tape recorder
wickfut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 09:21 PM   #10
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: How to limit fps?

Id still go for the psx version in epsxe
and if you do too, you might want to try wipeout 3, that game roxx
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 10:42 PM   #11
Lion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to limit fps?

I have PSX versions of WipEout 2097 and Wip3out se, both run nicely in ePSXe but I'd like to be able to use the PC version of 2097.. it's prettier :P

all the background detail levels are altered via the Fn keys.. one of them is draw distance, another city backdrop etc
__________________
P4 2.4C (usually at 3.0)
Asus P4P800
Leadtek GeForceFX 5800 128mb with zalman cooler
2x120gb SATA in RAID0
and 512mb of DDR266 that I don't even own
Lion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Games Of 7 Day FPS.. That Don't Have Any Shooting News Gaming Headlines 0 06-19-12 07:30 AM
302.17 = FPS drops in Quake Live Lamieur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 02:13 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Fat32 hard drive size limit Kruno Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 8 10-08-02 08:22 PM
low fps why??? nipster Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-07-02 03:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.