Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-04, 11:54 AM   #1
IsaacKuo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Question Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

Does 1.0-6106 support interlaced modes? I see from another thread that it supports overscan, at least somewhat.

Thanks!
IsaacKuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 04:30 PM   #2
lbt
MythTV User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: UK - Reading
Posts: 5
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

Judging by this entry in the XFree86 log :

(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.1f.00.08.00
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<--------Dead giveaway.....
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 4X
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 65536 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "TV-0"

I'd say yes

Since it's in the log and says 'on this gpu' then I'd also guess YMMV (probably depending on the gpu)

David
lbt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 09:07 AM   #3
IsaacKuo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

Oh boy, thanks! I'll find time this weekend to unbox my waiting GeForce2 and swap out my glitchy Radeon.

I'll report whether it works with my GeForce2 MX400.

Thanks!
IsaacKuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-04, 08:38 AM   #4
IsaacKuo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Thumbs down Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

FAILURE!

After the vacation, I finally got to try and put the NVIDIA card back into my HTPC. I downloaded the new drivers, and installed fresh...

...but interlaced modes are STILL NOT SUPPORTED.

On my GeForce2 MX400, it still comes up with the exact same bootup error as with the previous driver. This is the error:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1280x960" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)

Here's the modeline it's complaining about, which I use successfully with Ati cards:

ModeLine "1280x960" 55.350 1280 1392 1448 1640 960 1024 1035 1123 interlace +hsync +vsync

Oh well...I'm back to the glitchy Radeon 7200...at least it actually works...
IsaacKuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-04, 02:21 PM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

It is likely not that the drivers don't support interlace but just that it doesn't accept that mode as valid. The drivers are quite strict about it. Calculate a proper metamode (xtiming.sf.net / gtf.sf.net)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-04, 04:58 PM   #6
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

So how come I can use deinterlace mode when running a normal movie, surely that would work on tv-out. There is a option for it in xine, totem, ect... , and why would deinterlace work without interlace support?
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-04, 09:50 AM   #7
IsaacKuo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

Deinterlacing of movie playback isn't the issue here, nor is TV-out. I'm using the plain old VGA output, and what I'm trying to do is output to an interlaced display.

Anyway, the modeline is a valid--I use it for all of my Ati cards. Incidentally, I also have a custom 640x480p modeline with 540p timings which is based on that modeline (just with the appropriate values halved, rounding up, and no interlace). This modeline works with the Ati cards, and also works with the nVidia card. This mode is useful for playing 640x480 fullscreen games. With standard 640x480x60hz with 480p timings, my HDTV clips off the edges.
IsaacKuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 06:10 PM   #8
kow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

Many moons ago, I too begged for drivers that could pump out interlaced video through vga out. Now that the drivers are here, I gave them a shot. The custom interlaced modeline generated a signal that worked reasonably well on two monitors, but unfortunately it did not work on the target display device. Once my coworker and I had verified that our modeline was valid, we broke out the oscilliscope to see what signal was being generated on the wire. The signal's vertical sync did not appear to be correct. There should be three visibly distinct parts of the vertical sync, one corresponding to the front porch, one to the sync pulse, and one to the back porch. Our signal only had the sync pulse and was oddly missing the front and back porch.

This leads me to believe that the drivers still need some work before interlace functions properly. It is late so I will do more testing tomorrow. If anyone has opinions or similar experiences please share them with the community. By the way, I am using an old Nvidia TNT2 card.

Matthew
kow is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-12-04, 12:28 PM   #9
rettw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

AFAIK only the GeForce4 and Higher (you said you were using a GeForce2) GPUs support Interlaced video via the normal VGA connections.

Rett
rettw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-04, 04:01 AM   #10
darklegion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 37
Default Re: Does 6106 support interlaced modes?

Interlaced modes work perfectly fine for me on both my tnt2 and gf4-ti4200.I am using modelines generated from http://xtiming.sourceforge.net,and despite the fact these modelines aren't really perfect(can't seem to generate modelines that work on a scart tv,for example) the interlacing is clearly working,as the flicker is obvious This was with the last few releases from 6106 I believe..If its not working you on one particular device you could try swapping from negative to positve sync timings by changin -hsync and -vsync to +hsync +vsync...or by not using the xtiming modelines and building them manually or searching the net for known working modelines for your display.
darklegion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
320.17 can't detect video modes on Lenovo laptop tadawson NVIDIA Linux 13 07-14-12 01:40 AM
Missing Video Modes Enverex NVIDIA Linux 0 06-22-12 06:30 AM
Canonical partners with Microsoft to support Ubuntu on Azure News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.