Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-04, 01:17 AM   #1
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

While reading a few guides on CS: Source tweaking I ran across a way to enable CPU instruction sets. Simply add any of the following lines to your config file found in counter-strike source\cstrike\cfg.

r_mmx "1"
r_sse "1"
r_sse2 "1"
r_3dnow "1" (AMD CPU's only)

After enabling MMX, SSE, and 3DNow I gained about 10fps (keep in mind my avg. is 40) when there is lots of action going on. I could really tell a difference in heavy firefights where the processor is being stressed.

Some other useful commands are

net_graph 3
cl_ragdoll_collide "1"
cl_allowupload "0" and cl_allowdownload "0" (removes useless uploads and downloads to improve ping)
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 09:13 AM   #2
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

I'm surprised that the game doesn't take advantage of a CPU's given instruction set, without manual commnads...

Anyway, Nice find! I'll be sure to use them when HL2 comes out
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 10:20 AM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

Excellent find.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 11:34 AM   #4
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

All those CPU extensions should be enabled by default if your CPU supports them.

Maybe there is one rare bug which doesn't enabled it on your system but I highly doubt it.

There is no reason for valve NOT to enable them if your CPU has support for it.
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 11:43 AM   #5
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morrow
All those CPU extensions should be enabled by default if your CPU supports them.

Maybe there is one rare bug which doesn't enabled it on your system but I highly doubt it.

There is no reason for valve NOT to enable them if your CPU has support for it.
They are disabled by default. Don't ask me why, but they are.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 12:18 PM   #6
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
They are disabled by default. Don't ask me why, but they are.
Maybe just on your PC because Steam is unable to detect your CPU correctly, but it certainly is enabled for the majority of CS:S users.

Maybe you should post this also in the official Steam forum to see what the reaction is like...
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 04:30 PM   #7
FierceDeityLink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to FierceDeityLink Send a message via MSN to FierceDeityLink Send a message via Yahoo to FierceDeityLink
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

To the topic creator:
Does CS:S recognize your CPU when you start it up? I would assume that it would automatically set the extra instructions depending on the CPU (as it prints out what instructions your CPU supports in the console).
__________________
P4 3.2C|Asus P4C800-E DX|2GB Corsair DDR400|BFG Geforce 6800 Ultra|Antec TrueControl 550
Koolance EXOS 2|PolarFLO TT CPU|Danger Den NV-68|Danger Den MAZE4 chipset
FierceDeityLink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 05:07 PM   #8
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

This is what the console shows without my custom config.

Quote:
1 CPU, Frequency: 2.4 Ghz, Features: AuthenticAMD SSE MMX 3DNow RDTSC CMOV FCMOV
execing valve.rc
This is what the console shows with my custom config.

Quote:
1 CPU, Frequency: 4.7 Ghz, Features: AuthenticAMD SSE MMX 3DNow RDTSC CMOV FCMOV
execing valve.rc
execing autoexec.cfg
MMX code is enabled
SSE code is enabled
3DNow code is enabled
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-04, 08:07 PM   #9
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
This is what the console shows without my custom config.



This is what the console shows with my custom config.
ok, now try this.

Make sure your custom config is NOT loaded when starting CS:S, also make sure that r_mmx, r_sse, r_sse2 are NOT loaded from within the default config.cfg or any other cfg file which might be loaded automatically upon running CS:S

Start CS:S and type in the console "r_mmx" without the "1". If after this step the console says "MMX code is disabled" there is indeed something wrong with your setup and Steam is not able to set the correct CPU instruction set.

But again, most probably the console will say "MMX code is enabled" like it should do it.

The fact that your CS:S indicates that the different instructions are enabled with your config does not necessary mean that they were disabled before. It's rather the standard console output you get when typing in "r_mmx 1" even if mmx or sse was already enabled before.
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 09:11 PM   #10
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: How to enable MMX, 3DNow, SSE, and SSE2 to gain a FPS boost!

Hmm this is odd

] r_mmx
MMX code is enabled
] r_mmx 0
MMX code is disabled
] r_mmx
MMX code is enabled

It appears that r_mmx enables it. If I disable it with r_mmx 0 then type r_mmx it shows that it's enabled. Their is no way of telling if it's enabled by default or not.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.