Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-04, 01:55 AM   #25
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Imagine me having to download 4 GB of data! It's downloading at 3-4 kb/s. I've been looking from the day before yesterday to download the cached files from elsewhere. No luck though.

__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 03:14 AM   #26
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony
Imagine me having to download 4 GB of data! It's downloading at 3-4 kb/s. I've been looking from the day before yesterday to download the cached files from elsewhere. No luck though.

I did that for a month, before it was released.

I'm glad I did and made backups


Stupid dial-up... (40k)
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 03:45 AM   #27
Slybri
Registered User
 
Slybri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 404
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Welcome to the future, man.

Wake up and smell the broadband.
__________________
PC= E6750@3.4, 4 gig OCZ DDR2 Reaper, BFG GeForce 275 gtx oc, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, 120Gig Raptor drive, 22" Diamond Pro 2070sb CRT Z-5500 5.1 sound. Nvidia 3D Vision.
XBL Gamer Tag= Slybri007
Steam ID= Flank Sinatra

"Nice shot William Burroughs! You hold a gun like a guy who plays Riven!"
------ The Venture Bros.
Slybri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 06:08 AM   #28
pinsnpies
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 32
Talking Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

i actually smashed my keyboard (all the keys went everywhere) waiting for 5 hours for this to authenticate over steam. So i had to nip out to pcworld and get a new keyboard cuz my w, d and enter keys were missing.
__________________
System specs: antec super lanboy case, athlon 64 3000 @2.3ghz,1 gig ddr ram, inno3d 6800GT@423 1120, Asus k8v mobo, 60 + 80 hard drive. 19 inch Monitor

The majority of people on the rage3d boards are Idiots

HL2 is about looking like a real world, not some alien world where the leafs are too bright, water too blue, and pipes too shiny. HL2 is like a hot chick who's a natural beauty, whereas Farcry is like some chick with too much makeup, and Doom 3 is some goth chick... there might be a hot chick under all that makeup, but you'll never know for sure.
pinsnpies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 06:37 AM   #29
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

LOL Good old PC World huh , expensive but convinient!

I keep a spare stash of keyboards, and i've only just gone out and bought my copy of Half Life 2 ...it should be ok, but ive plugged in a pants old keyboard incase I must destroy !

Besides , I turned down some nookie to play this game, so it better be good!
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 09:30 AM   #30
oldsk00l
 
oldsk00l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Well, bless you poor unfortunate modemers.....being on a 1.5meg symmetrical DSL I cannot even IMAGINE what it's like to be on dialup anymore.....
__________________
The Adama maneuver was incredible, go watch Exodus pt 2.
oldsk00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 10:06 AM   #31
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Hell being on a 4mb download cable connection I can't even imagine going down to a measly 1.5mb connection like yours oldsk00l
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 11:58 AM   #32
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

I bought the DVD Colectors Edtion and I thought you could play the game with out haveing to hook up to the internet and get it unlock ,my slow asss dailup takes forever and then the damn thing has big paues in it when I play it ,It looks like it could have been a great game if it did'nt have all that STEAM sh!t to go with it. As you can tell I not a happy camper after spending $75 on a game and it is just a big Headache.I hope Pirates have fun because I have the DVD and It's hell for me .I guess I will figure it someday ,Fixing just to put my Need For Speed UnderGround 2 in ,I know it can't be a tenth as bad as trying to get Halflife2 to work right.Helll I thought all the game was supposed to be on the store bought DVD without haveing to download stuff just to get it to half work.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-04, 05:34 PM   #33
oldsk00l
 
oldsk00l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
Hell being on a 4mb download cable connection I can't even imagine going down to a measly 1.5mb connection like yours oldsk00l
symmetrical, meaning my upload rate doesn't eat balls. A tradeoff I'm happy with.

I see the whole point though. I was on a 3.3mb connection for a while, dude, an ISO in a half an hour. I loved it.

Still, I'm honestly very surprised that anyone thought it would work.....at all.

I didn't expect it to "work as intended" till a month after HL2 released. That's when I'm going to grit my teeth, plop the turd into the bowel, and buy the silver package.
__________________
The Adama maneuver was incredible, go watch Exodus pt 2.
oldsk00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 08:33 PM   #34
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf5900
i have some controversial information that relates to Half Life 2... there is a rumour that Gabe Newell had sex with plain donuts, then ate jelly donuts afterwards... But don't quote me about this... i heard it from a friend of a friend of a friend who had sex with a hooker. No the donuts and the hooker aren't related.
You mean the sex with jelly donuts to make plain ones wasn't true?.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 09:21 PM   #35
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

Nope... It was definately sex with plain to make jelly. He prefers plain for f###in and jelly for feedin...
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 09:58 PM   #36
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: I have Dial-Up [Half Life 2 Rant]

HL2 from Steam has just finished downloading. That's after 3 days of downloads and an ISP change which didn't help at all.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legit Half Life 3 concept arts leaked AthlonXP1800 Gaming Central 5 06-29-12 03:27 AM
For scientists seeking extraterrestrial life, Kepler probe is step one News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 06:10 PM
Life on Cloud Kepler: GPUs and Heterogenic Computing News Archived News Items 0 05-23-12 07:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.