Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-02, 04:18 PM   #1
Fishbulb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2
Default Configuring the NVidia Drivers

I have RH Linux 8.0 with the new 18.8.0 or whatever kernel and a Geforce3...just installed the 3123 drivers I had on my hd and came on here and saw new drivers released today...doh!

Well anyway the 3123 installation went fine, I see the nvidia logo on startup, and nv_check says everything looks great. Reading over the README for the drivers it talks about a bunch of configuration options like FSAA, but doesn't tell where to set the options. Forgive my n00b question but where do I go to edit these variables? XF86Config? modules.conf?

Any good configuration guides on the net anywhere?

Thanks!
Fishbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-02, 04:34 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

You generally set them with environment variables. Assuming you're using bash, you would open an xterm, type

'export __GL_FSAA_MODE=X' (where X is the level you want)

and then start the game from that xterm.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-02, 08:35 PM   #3
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

One more thing you should note is that doing it through xterm will not effect FSAA globally. Only apps started from that xterm will use FSAA. Remember that Linux will let you use multiple environments, which in this case is sort of a bad thing. If you want FSAA for all programs started using a bash shell, put the line Andy stated above in a file called .bashrc (In your home directory).
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file

Last edited by Soul-Crusher; 12-11-02 at 08:40 PM.
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-02, 09:24 PM   #4
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Yes, very true. Thanks for mentioning that.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-02, 10:43 PM   #5
Daedalus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via AIM to Daedalus
Default

Unless a game uses a script to start the game (like quake 3) because it is creating a new shell (usually sh) then you'd have to add the "export" line to the script itself
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 01:48 AM   #6
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Daedalus
Unless a game uses a script to start the game (like quake 3) because it is creating a new shell (usually sh) then you'd have to add the "export" line to the script itself
Hey, John! I was wondering when you'd show up here. Good point about Quake. It will use FSAA if you start it from a bash shell using the command Andy posted. If you want it to use the command all the time even if you don't start it from a shell that exports it you must edit /path/to/quake3/quake3 (Not quake3.x86) and, as you said, add the file to that script. It would then look something like this:

#!/bin/sh
# Needed to make symlinks/shortcuts work.
# Run Quake III with some default arguments

export __GL_FSAA_MODE=5
cd "/usr/local/games/quake3"
./quake3.x86 $*
exit $?
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Nvidia GeForce 310.54 Beta Drivers are Now Available News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 11-12-12 06:20 PM
vdpau issues with openSUSE 12.2 x86_64 and nvidia 304.43 drivers frispete NVIDIA Linux 0 09-29-12 04:41 PM
NVIDIA Drivers Receive Windows 8 Certification News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
NVIDIA 2960 Drivers & RH 7.3 W/2.4.18-5 XASCompuGuy NVIDIA Linux 6 08-02-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.