Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-04, 02:32 PM   #1
c3ham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Smile A8n-sli

Hi got ma new computer setup up. i have a few problems farcry, half life 2 and vampire bloodlines are very stuttery.

MY SPEC
Athlon 64 3200
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
MSI 6800GT
512 only running at 266 (new memory should come tomorrow)

i dont think these games should stutter after all the money i have spent on this system another problem i have with my setup is the built in firewall, the software will not instal i keep getting these errors

FAILED TO COPY TO C:\PROGR~1\NVIDIA\NETWOR~1\BIN\FW_WATCH.EXE

COULD NOT COPY APP_POPUP.EXE

COULD NOT COPY APPFLTUI.DLL

COULD NOT RUN NTRAYFW.EXE

If any you guys got some tips on how to get ma system running better i would really appreciate it

thank you

Last edited by c3ham; 01-27-05 at 03:21 AM.
c3ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-04, 02:47 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: A8n-sli

I think the stuttering is due to your RAM . i'd say 1GB DDR400 of RAM would get rid of this but not 100% sure .


also take a look here , you might find an answer to your trouble :

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=43015
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-04, 02:57 PM   #3
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: A8n-sli

Wait till your ram comes in then see how it runs. With such a fast cpu/mb/graphics card, yer system is bottlenecked w/ the DDR266 you're run. (constantly cacheing)

If the ram doesn't solve it, try some of the source cfg performance tweaks.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-04, 04:24 PM   #4
c3ham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: A8n-sli

thanks guys i am waiting on this corsair TWINX1024 3200XLPT XMS3200 clock speeds 2-2-2-5. hopefully this will sort out my stutter problem.

What about the firewall driver any ideas what could be wrong???

cheers

Last edited by c3ham; 12-28-04 at 04:42 PM.
c3ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-04, 04:32 AM   #5
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: A8n-sli

corrupt file maybe, can you get the driver directly from NV website??
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-04, 07:50 AM   #6
c3ham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: A8n-sli

i could not find it on the nvidia web site but i did download the latest beta from guru3d and it was just the same
c3ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-05, 05:44 PM   #7
c3ham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: A8n-sli

got my ram in thing run alot better still cant get the firewall to work
__________________
c3ham

Athlon 64 3200
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
1GB Geil Ultra-X 2-2-2-5 1T
XFX 6800GT with Zalman VF700CU
Liteon DVD-RW
PaxPower 460W PSU (dual rail)
c3ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-05, 05:45 AM   #8
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: A8n-sli

Wow 512MB ram if you are running games at max detail then 512MB simply is NOT enough hecks alot of games now use 700MB to it's self never mind windows and other applications! And if it's one stick you are crippling yourself more with it running in single channel!

As for the firewall download the lates drivers from Guru3D.com
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-05-05, 09:17 AM   #9
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: A8n-sli

Quote:
Originally Posted by c3ham
got my ram in thing run alot better still cant get the firewall to work
If you open properties under the network adapter in device mgr. Under the "Advanced" tab I think, you should have an option to view settings for the personal firewall. What happens if you just type in your ip in the browser, does it timeout?
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-05, 10:33 AM   #10
Daneel Olivaw
Northwood hugger
 
Daneel Olivaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: A8n-sli

FarCry stopped stuttering with my 1gig of ram. (up from 512)
__________________
-Intel Core2 Duo 4300 (3.0GHz) | Asus P5N-E SLI | 6GB Corsair CVS PC2-5300 | GF8800GT 512MB | Western Digital 1TB Raid0 | Antec SLK2600AMB | Antec Earthwatts 500W
-Intel Pentium4 2.4C (3.4GHz) | Asus P4P800 Dlx | 2GB Crucial Rendition PC-3200 | GF6800LE 128MB | Seagate 200GB | Antec Overture II | Antec TruePower 2.0 480W


Mild agnosticism —the view that the existence or nonexistence of God or gods is currently unknown but is not necessarily unknowable, therefore one will withhold judgment until/if more evidence is available. A weak agnostic would say "I don't know, but maybe you do."
Daneel Olivaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 10:17 AM   #11
c3ham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: A8n-sli

cheers for all your feedback guys computer's running well now got my firewall working got the files that it would not copy from another forum all is well now


cheers
__________________
c3ham

Athlon 64 3200
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
1GB Geil Ultra-X 2-2-2-5 1T
XFX 6800GT with Zalman VF700CU
Liteon DVD-RW
PaxPower 460W PSU (dual rail)
c3ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX670 Quad SLI issue candle_86 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 12 07-09-12 09:18 PM
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 04:34 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
GeForce GTX 670 Doesn't Support 4-way SLI, Possible with Future Driver Update News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 08:00 AM
GeForce GTX 670 2 and 3-way SLI review (Guru3D) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.