Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-02, 07:18 AM   #1
jonners
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Does glxgears have to be run in root?

Just set up a geForce2 on Suse 7.3, and got decent results from glxgears (more to the point, tuxracer ran ;-)).

But, when I went in as a user, glxgears froze the machine. Is that normal? Does anyone know why?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-02, 10:28 AM   #2
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Of all things, it shouldn't freeze the machine. Not sure why, though I have been getting a couple of freezes myself (When starting a 3D program, the machine will lock, with the scroll lock and caps lock LED's on the keyboard flashing).
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-02, 10:47 PM   #3
Archie Steel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16
Default Re: Does glxgears have to be run in root?

Quote:
Originally posted by jonners
Just set up a geForce2 on Suse 7.3, and got decent results from glxgears (more to the point, tuxracer ran ;-)).

But, when I went in as a user, glxgears froze the machine. Is that normal? Does anyone know why?
I'm having the same problem. Windowed GL apps will freeze my system unless I run them as root...or as an alternate user. Somehow there must be something wrong with my user config.
Archie Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-02, 11:00 PM   #4
Archie Steel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16
Default Re: Re: Does glxgears have to be run in root?

Quote:
Originally posted by Archie Steel
I'm having the same problem. Windowed GL apps will freeze my system unless I run them as root...or as an alternate user. Somehow there must be something wrong with my user config.
Guess what...I found the problem (I think)...it was the __GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK=1 option which I had set in my .bashrc file...commenting it out solved the problem!

I guess it's deprecated and they forgot to tell us!
Archie Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-02, 02:35 AM   #5
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

__GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK is not depricated, and should work as it always has.

Please send a bug report to linux-bugs@nvidia.com.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-02, 09:10 AM   #6
Archie Steel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
__GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK is not depricated, and should work as it always has.

Please send a bug report to linux-bugs@nvidia.com.

--andy
Will do!
Archie Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 07:34 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 09:49 AM
Major WineX prob... I think it has to do with the vidcard... Linewbie NVIDIA Linux 20 10-09-02 10:58 PM
Missing GL extensions barole NVIDIA Linux 4 10-08-02 11:25 PM
Mandrake 8.2 cannot get NVdriver to load. dbhost NVIDIA Linux 20 08-18-02 12:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.