Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-02, 01:14 AM   #1
Fluxism
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Arrow Unable to select a resolution higher than 800x600

Hi all,

I'm running Mandrake 9, with a TNT2 vga card with driver NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123 with equivalent GLX. I have everything working fine, except that I can't select a resolution higher than 800x600, even tho both my monitor and VGA card do so.
I've tried editing my XF86Config-4 from;

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

to;

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

For each of the different colour depths, when I restart X, no nvidia logo, just a black sceen, had to go back to the config file and remove the 1024 entries and restart X.
Can anyone give help on howto get a decent resolution please?

Thanks.

Fluxism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-02, 06:33 AM   #2
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

I'd check to see if your monitor is detected correctly. As the max resolution is govened by what the monitor is capable of displaying.

If your monitor will display higher than 800x600, then the horizontal and vertical information will have to be put into the XF86Config file manually. (Assuming you have the Monitor Manual which should contain that information.)
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-02, 03:10 PM   #3
Fluxism
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the reply Wolfman,

But the monitor, was / is detected correctly, though when installing mandrake, it was 'unable to probe' so I set the make and model number manually.
The same monitor under windows (different vga card / comp though) Will display a max resolution of 1152x864, so there's no reason why it shouldnt display at 1024x768. Also, I've just updated to the latest 41.91 drivers, same trouble.

I'll try and find the hor / vert figures off the manufacturers site, and correlate that to the XConfig file...

Thanks.
Fluxism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-02, 01:18 AM   #4
Fluxism
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Did as you advised wolfman, and altered the XConfig file, the horizontal / vertical rates that were there were incorrect. So I altered these, and then changed this part, for each colour depth;

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

to;

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

And now all is working fine at 1024x768.

Thanks.
Fluxism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-02, 05:54 AM   #5
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

No problems... Glad to be of some help..
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to get other display resolution jcdole NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 04:25 AM
Unable to select 2048x1536 resolution zack NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 17 09-05-02 09:41 AM
Anyway to get a resolution higher than 2048x1536? Xevious NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 22 08-13-02 04:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.