Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-02, 09:06 AM   #1
TA00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Unhappy TV out with GF 4 mx440 on Suse 8.1

-- Again

is there anybody who gets TV out (Twinview) work with a geforce 4 MX440 on a suse 8.0 or 8.1 ??

I can get two errormessages in XFree.log
1) only one device found - disabling twinview
and when i try "ConnectedMonitor"
2) screen(s) found but none have a useable configuration

Drivers are instaled (and work) no performance problems.
If i start teh computer without a connected monitor the TV device is used automaticly - starting x then the x-window is displayed on the TV. But if I plugted in the monitor and start X with twinview - same problem (see above)

regards Christoph
TA00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-02, 12:02 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Set your config file up so that you get the "none have a usable configuration" message. Then run startx (and it will fail), and post the /var/log/XFree86.0.log file.

The thing is, that error message ("screens found, but none have a usable configuration") doesn't tell me why none have a usable configuration. Posting your log file will allow me to narrow down the reason.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 04:38 PM   #3
TA00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Default Twinview with geforce4 and suse

Ok here is the Log file with the error "none have a usable configuration"
I don't know I have alle the packages and modules that I need. Exp. Framebuffer in .config - eable or not ?.

PS it's XFree.2.log because I type 'startx -- :2'
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.2.log.txt (15.7 KB, 129 views)
TA00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-02, 08:55 AM   #4
mosquis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

I had the same problem long ago, and I got this mail:
Greetings, Manuel. Hmm. It seems like when you have TwinView enabled
none of the modes you requested for the TV got validated. If you specify
"UseModes" in your monitor section, does X not use it's own mode database?
It seems that way. I'd suggest either removing the UseModes directive in
the monitor section, or place an 800x600 mode that is valid for HorizSync
30-50 and VertRefresh 60 in the Modes section.

I hope that helps.
mosquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-02, 04:00 AM   #5
TA00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Talking it works !!

Using the newest (41xx) driver from nvidia (ia32)
- download the tar-file - compile it - twinview works without changing XF86Config.

There are only 2 possible reasons for the problems I've had:
1. this was the first time I use the tar-file and compile it
2. the old drivers were buggy

now everything work fine

regards

Christoph
TA00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-02, 01:49 PM   #6
jst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Default Re: it works !!

Hi,

I have simular problem, but I allready use the 4191 stack.
Both configuration of monitor and tv where found, but none
of the resulutions work.
The bizarre on it, I use a tv mode from a college with the
same tv. The only difference between our configuration is
that he uses an panel and tv, I use a monitor and tv.

Please can you post your xfconfig. Maybee I have some major
fault in my configuration.

Thanks
jst.
jst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 04:57 AM   #7
TA00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Default ok - here's my current XF86Config

I'm using a flat panel and a TV but I don't thint that there is a difference using a monitor and a TV. I use the tar.bz files and compile the kernelmodule and the GLX extention on my own. Could be that that's the difference.
Whith this XFConfig the TV was switched of if I use the resolution 1280x1024. If I change to a lower resolution the TV work (clone).
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (5.7 KB, 181 views)
TA00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-02, 05:39 AM   #8
jst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Default Timings for use with CRT and TV

After trying a lot of different configurations I don't get
any useable twinview xfconfig.
The way Nvidia define twinview is not very useful for
anyone having 2 devices with very different timings
like CRT and TV.

Panels don't need high refreshes to get a good picture,
CRT will need this. In the end I get 1 worth looking timing for 800x600 working at the lowest end working on my CRT and
also on TV.
But I can't setup a mode of high resolution CRT mode
and a cloned 800x600 TV resolution showing the monitor
resolution as a selected part. So I have to switch my xfconfig
unsing my tv.

Maybee the will be an release of drivers in future fixing
this problem. At time I think nvidia choose the design.
xinerama is the better way, I've created such configurations
at work for different systems an hardware and it works fine.

jst is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-29-02, 08:51 AM   #9
TA00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Default

With the timings in my XF86Config the refresh rate on my LCD is arround 70hz. For the second monitor (TV) the the frequences are give by "SecondMonitorHorizSync" and "SecondMonitorVertRefresh". (I have a PAL TV - normaly the Refresh is 50 Hz but this dosn't work so set up like in XF86Config).
The TV can only be use for DVD/Video or Photos because the picture isn't sharp. My GF4 MX440 works with a resolution of 1024x768 on the TV.
I don't think that next releases can make better pictures on the TV because the physical resolution of a TV (PAL 4:3) is about 750x560 and that dont match with the resolution of a PC.
TA00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 440 Go, SuSE 8.0, and new Nvidia drivers loudawg NVIDIA Linux 4 06-01-04 12:54 AM
My SuSE 8.0 just totally BROKE. Help please!!! sephiroth762 NVIDIA Linux 6 10-09-02 02:30 PM
Suse 8.1 and Nvidia drivers tombraider500 NVIDIA Linux 4 10-06-02 11:19 AM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 12:03 PM
Newbie - Compiling my own for SuSe 8.0 jocephus19 NVIDIA Linux 5 09-01-02 09:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.