Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-05, 09:47 PM   #1
johnkeel105
Registered User
 
johnkeel105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 454
Default Geforce FX 5200 Question

I have a Geforce FX 5200 card that was made by BFG Tech. Now on the box it claims to be 10% faster then most and is overclocked but when I check the clock speeds on the core it is 250mhz and on the box it says its supposted to be 280mhz. Now my question is what is the Memory Clock supposted to be, it doesn't say on the box. My card has a small wafer fan on it so I think it is made to be overclocked slightly. Any ideas would be helpful thanks.
__________________

Gaming Computer:
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2GHz | GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P AM3 | OCZ Reaper HPC (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 | 1024MB Nvidia Geforce 550Ti | Western Digital 750 GB SATA HD | Western Digital 500GB SATA HD | Visiontek Killer 2100 | Creative Xi Fi Fata1ity | Ultra X3 600 Watt ATX Power Supply | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Windows 8 Rig:
AMD Phenom 9750 | 2x1024MB PC-6400 DDR2 | Nvidia GeForce 9800GTX+ | Seagate 80GB ATA HD |17" Samsung | Windows 8 Preview 32-bit

Gaming Laptop:
AMD Phenom II X4 N970 | 2x4096MB DDR3 | AMD Radeon HD 6650M 1GB DDR3 VRAM | OCZ Solid State HardDrive | Killer 2100 Wireless N | 15.6 HD LED LCD | Blu-ray Drive | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Ubuntu 11.04



|DOS| Clan Recruiting for COD:BO, FH2, World of Tanks, & KF http://dosclan.us
johnkeel105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-05, 02:24 AM   #2
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Geforce FX 5200 Question

http://www.bfgtech.com/5200_256.html

Looks like 350mhz?
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-05, 07:34 AM   #3
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Geforce FX 5200 Question

350MHz DDR means "real" 175MHZ ?

It looks like those claims are complete BS. The original GeForce 5200 had a stock speed of 250MHz for the core and used 5ns DDR memory (400Mhz equivalent). Both 64 and 128bit buses are supported, thought cards with 64bit bus are restrained by the lack of bandwitdh
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-05, 10:15 AM   #4
johnkeel105
Registered User
 
johnkeel105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 454
Default Re: Geforce FX 5200 Question

Well I know my memory clock is at 400Mhz. But if they supposably overclocked my card and its not overclocked now. Would they have overclocked the memory higher then 400Mhz? Is 400Mhz the standard clock for a Nvidia 5200?
__________________

Gaming Computer:
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2GHz | GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P AM3 | OCZ Reaper HPC (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 | 1024MB Nvidia Geforce 550Ti | Western Digital 750 GB SATA HD | Western Digital 500GB SATA HD | Visiontek Killer 2100 | Creative Xi Fi Fata1ity | Ultra X3 600 Watt ATX Power Supply | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Windows 8 Rig:
AMD Phenom 9750 | 2x1024MB PC-6400 DDR2 | Nvidia GeForce 9800GTX+ | Seagate 80GB ATA HD |17" Samsung | Windows 8 Preview 32-bit

Gaming Laptop:
AMD Phenom II X4 N970 | 2x4096MB DDR3 | AMD Radeon HD 6650M 1GB DDR3 VRAM | OCZ Solid State HardDrive | Killer 2100 Wireless N | 15.6 HD LED LCD | Blu-ray Drive | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Ubuntu 11.04



|DOS| Clan Recruiting for COD:BO, FH2, World of Tanks, & KF http://dosclan.us
johnkeel105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 04:36 AM   #5
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: Geforce FX 5200 Question

On the FX5200 256mb card 400 (200DDR) is the stardard for them since they have 5ns memory on them.They more than likely did'nt over clock the memory since on 5ns memory 200 (400) is the default.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 11:33 AM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.