Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-05, 07:59 PM   #1
swsnyder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

I get ~48fps in Doom3 (the standard demo). This on a BFG 6800GT OC video board.

My only configuration of the game is to set it to High Quality mode and 1280x1024 resolution. I've done no overclocking of the video card. In short, pretty much everything is stock.

My 3DMark05 scrores are comparable to others with similar hardware (CPU, RAM quantity, video card), yet my Doom3 scores are relatively poor. I keep reading how others with the same video card at the same resolution as mine are getting framerates in the 60s.

My CPU is a Pentium4/2.4GHz, and my system has 1GB of RAM. Is a P4/2.4GHz chip too slow to max-out the 6800GT in Doom3?

Thanks.
swsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-05, 08:36 PM   #2
NightFire
Bu Zi You, Wo Ning Si
 
NightFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,464
Send a message via MSN to NightFire
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

I think so. Although it really depends on the detail settings your playing at. Try adjusting the resolution, and if you see a marked difference in the fps.
__________________
Funny story

SteelSoft Incorporated
Specs: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @2.5GHz/512 MB PC2700 RAM/80 GB Western Digital Caviar/15 GB Maxtor/Diamond Viper X1950XT 256MB/Dell 1907FP 19" LCD Monitor/ASRock 939Dual SATA-2/1.44 MB Floppy/40x-12x-48x CD-RW/8x DVD-ROM
NightFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-05, 12:02 AM   #3
holmes
Registered User
 
holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 692
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

Sorry to say, but I think you are CPU limited with a 2.4 P4... Doom3 is a very GPU heavy game, but needs a fairly fast CPU to allow the video card to effectively stretch its legs. Have you tried overclocking your processor? I have no idea what you'd be able to get.. maybe 2.7 - 2.8GHz? You could also use a FSB boost. You'd definitely notice the difference then...
__________________

The Rig
ASRock 970 Extreme3 AM3+
AMD Athlon II x2 260
DDR3-1600 (2x2GB) Kingston HyperX
Western Digital caviar 1TB
ECS GeForce GT 220 1GB
Cooler Master Storm Scout ATX case
Corsair 750W PSU
holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-05, 12:11 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

Yeah you are deffinitely CPU limited. Especially if thats one with a 400Mhz FSB. Those were much slower than the current P4s (not to mention Athlon XPs or 64s).
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-05, 12:18 AM   #5
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

You can easily push your P4 2.4Ghz to 2.75Gz with standard cooling, or ever 2.8Ghz if you are lucky.
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-05, 12:58 AM   #6
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Yeah you are deffinitely CPU limited. Especially if thats one with a 400Mhz FSB. Those were much slower than the current P4s (not to mention Athlon XPs or 64s).
There was no 400FSB 2.4's, only 533FSB and 800FSB. perhaps you mean that?
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-05, 07:17 PM   #7
swsnyder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf5900
There was no 400FSB 2.4's, only 533FSB and 800FSB. perhaps you mean that?
Actually, this P4/2.4GHz CPU does run on a 400MHz FSB. Alas.

Thanks for the response.
swsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-05, 03:19 AM   #8
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default Re: CPU-limited with P4/2.4GHz?

The 400 and 533mhz FSB P4's are far more abundant. The 800 fsb P4's were introduced pretty recently in comparison.
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Fedora 16, GTX 550Ti, random X hangs, "Attempted to yield the CPU..." MquwIBUO NVIDIA Linux 7 06-12-12 03:39 PM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM
Temp CPU until Barton... pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 09-13-02 01:42 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.