Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-05, 04:11 PM   #37
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

Licencees get access to ALL the code, experimental or not. It's in the engine.
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-05, 04:23 PM   #38
oldsk00l
 
oldsk00l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
Doom 3's models are between 2,000 and 4,000 polygons each. Backgrounds vary, but I'd guess they peak at around about 20,000 (probably substantially less most of the time). So at most, maybe 30,000 polygons on screen at once in Doom 3. Half-life 2 a bit more, but still not by a huge amount. By comparision, Half-life 1 and Quake 3 used had around 3,000 polygons in a single scene.

Actually, it seems higher polygon counts are more prevalent in console games than PC games, partially due to less effects being used on them. For example, Ferrari F355 Challenge on the Dreamcast (a console using 5-year-old technology) had areas with over 50,000 polygons on the screen, and it ran at 60FPS. Of course, it only used basic textures and specularity maps for almost all of them, no fancy bump mapping, normal mapping, or advanced lighting effects, but it still looked pretty decent. At this point, more polygons aren't really a big deal since the camera is almost always far enough away from the characters and geometry that the extra smoothness isn't very noticable. Also with displacement mapping and offset mapping, you can simulate the effects of millions of polygons in a single surface. Just take a look at Humus's offset mapping demo: had the floor and walls been built strictly from polygons without using any mapping, it would've probably used well over a million polygons in the scene. But, thanks to the surfacing effects, it looked almost exactly the same except it only drew about 10 polygons.

Although there are some rough edges in Doom 3 that could've been smoothed out with more polygons, in-game it looks great but sometimes cutscenes zoom in far enough that you can see a lot of pointy edges on the characters.
Don't forget though, the Hitachi SH4's synergy with the tile rendering PVR2DC chip was grossly under-rated for geometry. They stated 3 million/sec, devs could crank 5 million/sec out, and in some of the final DC games it appears even higher.

The first Shenmue has comparable geometric character detail to most games in 2002-2003...some of '04's. RE:Code Veronica is also a good example of how far they were able to push it. It'd be nice if Sega decided to crap out after Avatar. That would have given the GC a run for its money.
__________________
The Adama maneuver was incredible, go watch Exodus pt 2.
oldsk00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-05, 05:19 PM   #39
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel17
Doom 3's Engine has DirectX9 level fragment program support. In an email from John Carmack, he told me that HDR is in the engine, but it's only for NV40, and basically in beta and it's not artist friendly.

I hate when people say the D3 engine is a DX7 engine...
well there is a difference if the engine is capeable of DX9 or DX9 based. Doom3 is capeable of DX9 but ID's next gen eninge is DX9 based.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-05, 05:21 PM   #40
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

The ARB2/Cg/EXP paths are DX9 class only.

Remember Doom 3 has different rendering paths.
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-05, 10:08 PM   #41
f|LtH fR@g
 
f|LtH fR@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City 17
Posts: 93
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by f|LtH fR@g
What level is that spider-woman on? Been meaning to play through that level, since I never came close to beating the game. I don't even think I've seen a hellknight
I wasn't kidding, can some1 tell me what levels these guys are on?
__________________
@643200+ 1MB Cache / 1024 PC-3200 DDR 400 / eVGA 6800 GT / WD 120 GB HD + 8MB Cache / Dvd 16x/cd-r 52x /
f|LtH fR@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-05, 11:02 AM   #42
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by f|LtH fR@g
I wasn't kidding, can some1 tell me what levels these guys are on?
Alpha Labs 4
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-05, 11:24 AM   #43
oldsk00l
 
oldsk00l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Unreal 3 Engine

and the caverns, I think it was 2, or 3

one of those, shortly before the hellhole.
__________________
The Adama maneuver was incredible, go watch Exodus pt 2.
oldsk00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regression with 295.33 and GeForce GT 240 maro NVIDIA Linux 16 06-29-12 07:47 PM
Crytek CEO quietly confident after Unreal Engine 4 reveal News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 01:30 AM
Skydive: Free Video Game Based on Unreal Engine News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 10:20 PM
Gorgeous Unreal Engine 4 brings direct programming, indirect lighting News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 10:20 PM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 06:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.