Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-03, 01:00 AM   #1
~=MOON=~
Registered User
 
~=MOON=~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 5
Post Is a UT 2003 Server a viable venture for a hosting service?

Hello Everyone!

I am to open a hosting service very soon and have enough customers right now to insure the viability of the service. But since I know that alot of ppl are into games played over the net, I am wondering what kind of ressources would be needed for a hosting service to host a few UT 2003 servers. Does it require alot of throughput, does it involve alot of running process?

Thanks to everyone for your help.
~=MOON=~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-03, 01:39 AM   #2
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

yo moon, hook a brotha up and gimme a little sumthin' sumthin'
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-03, 11:58 AM   #3
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

A guy I know runs a 14 player server on a dual P3 1Ghz box running Win2k with 768 megs of ram on his own T1 (his company pays for it.... the bastards ), and with THAT, there's no lag. Bump it up to 20 or 24... it's laggy.

So yeah, it's throughput and process intensive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-03, 01:04 PM   #4
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I don't really know about bandwidth. You could ask current server ops...

However, I think the usual lag is due to processor calculations with a lot of players. (Over 16 is a lot of players being my meaning...) UT2003 has a lot more calcs to do than many games...

So, I think, Epic explained it. They probably have a server op tutorial thingy somewhere explaining it better than I could.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-03, 01:29 PM   #5
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

Dual Athlon XP @ 1.6 GHz + 1 GB of DDR gigabit ethernet would do for 32 players
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-03, 01:35 PM   #6
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

In the FAQ doesn't it say that a single P4 over 2 Ghz would be able to do that?
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-03, 03:50 AM   #7
~=MOON=~
Registered User
 
~=MOON=~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 5
Post

I am not surprize by the throughput issue but a little puzzle by the caculation aspect of the deal. It is my understanding that a dedicated server will not make any rendering calculation since that task is handle localy on the client's computer. True?... I am downloading the linux version of the dedicated UT2003 server and will install it on a redhat 8.0 distro temporary server to put it to the test. I do doubt it would be cpu intensive.
__________________
We at Microsoft believe that failure is not an option... It comes bundle with all our softwares.
~=MOON=~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-03, 10:37 AM   #8
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

yes it won't do any video rendering, so you a tnt would work fine.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.