Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-02, 10:58 AM   #13
mbrosius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Default

I've been searching the forum and I found the nv_check.sh script. I downloaded and ran it and it said that it couldn't locate /dev/nvidia1. I then found the hacked version (which fixes the /dev/nvidia1 problem) by bwkaz and it reported that everything appears to be okay.

I just wanted to let you know what I have found and what I have done. Thanks for helping.
mbrosius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 12:27 PM   #14
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I don't know for sure, but maybe it's an issue with the resolution? I wouldn't think so, but maybe... If you drop the resolution a bit (to 1024), temporarily, does that help at all?

The reason I'm thinking maybe it's that is because that's the last thing in the log. Not really any other reason... Did you try lowering the AGP rate to 2x in the BIOS?

Hmm... I didn't notice this before:

Quote:
(--) PCI: (0:13:0) BrookTree unknown chipset (0x036e) rev 2, Mem @ 0xe7001000/12
Which motherboard are you using that has a BrookTree chipset? I've never heard of that one...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 12:43 PM   #15
mbrosius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Default

Now it is time for "Stupid Questions from the user". How do I set the resolution in XF86Config-4? I'm sure this is very easy but I was hoping you could shed some light on the problem. What resolution do you recommend...800x600? I'll try anything, I just hope I can change it once I get in to X.

I'll try setting the BIOS to 2X instead of 4X. That is funny since I thought the BIOS was already set at 2X. I'll double check that again.

I have the Tyan Trinity K7 motherboard. I also have a Phoebe TV card which is probably why you see the Brooktree chipset.
mbrosius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 06:44 PM   #16
mbrosius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Default

bwkaz:
I'm pretty sure I disabled AGP 4x in my BIOS. I also changed the resolution to 800x600 15bpps. When I ran insmod NVdriver and tried to run startx I got the white screen and it froze and I couldn't even do "CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE". Would you like me to post part of the log again or do you have any other suggestions?

Mark
mbrosius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-02, 10:44 AM   #17
mbrosius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Default

Thinking that the problem could be due to my TV card, I removed any modules that I thought me be related to the TV card. Then I inserted NVdriver and I got the total black screen.

When I tried running X it failed and I looked at the log. I was noticed that I succeeded in setting my BIOS to use AGP 2X and I set the resolution to 1024x768. Next, I tried setting the resolution to 800x600 but it still didn't work.

Any more ideas?
mbrosius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-02, 10:12 PM   #18
mbrosius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Default

I'm still not having any luck getting the nvidia drivers installed any my current resolution can't get above 800x600. Can someone please help me? I think we have to be close. Thanks!
mbrosius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-03, 01:18 PM   #19
cReat0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Grenaa, Denmark
Posts: 3
Default

Hmm i run FreeBSD and have the same problem as mbrosius, the white screen appears and it just stays there, when i remove Load "glx" and type startx, it starts normaly, can anyone help me? I've attached my XF86Config, the Load "glx" part isnt there because it dosn't work then.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (1.1 KB, 140 views)
cReat0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-03, 02:59 PM   #20
mbrosius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Default

I was able to finally find my problem and get the drivers to work. All I had to do was to purchase a motherboard that supported my new nvidia card and everything worked perfectly. I had assumed the my motherboard would work but I was wrong. I bought a new MB and all is a-okay! The installation of the drivers went extrememly smooth after that.
mbrosius is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Self compiled kernels 3.5.2 & problems compiling nvidia driver 295.59 pjwhite NVIDIA Linux 0 08-17-12 05:04 PM
Graphics driver installation problem (your comments will be highly appreciated) apuurboo NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series 0 06-16-12 07:35 AM
Graphics driver installation problem (your comments will be highly appreciated) apuurboo NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series 0 06-13-12 07:58 AM
Mandrake 9.0 driver installation Andy Mecham NVIDIA Linux 3 10-02-02 04:12 PM
F1 2002 problems with driver 40.41 arutten NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 6 10-01-02 07:07 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.