Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-02, 06:43 PM   #1
E4MT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Question Need help!

Hi helpful people,

I'm quite new to Linux

I'm running Mandrake 9.0 on a Dell Inspiron 8100 with an NVidia GeForce2Go card.

I've got my kernel sources and headers installed, edited my XF86Config-4 file, and have generally been a good boy and followed all the instructions / read all the stuff on this forum before coming for help, but this is getting beyond a joke now.

I've tried installing the drivers using both the rpm and tarball methods to no avail (on a clean, freshly installed system the last two times).

I get the same error when installing the kernel module by either method: I get a message telling me that the kernel is tainted due to a non-GPL license on the module. This just means that these proprietary drivers have restricitive licenses though, right?

Anyway, everything seems like it has gone well (no other errors), but I start X and I just get a blank screen. I can still log back out to the comand prompt, however, by hitting ctrl + alt + del followed by alt + L.

I've run the installation checking shell-script supplied by NVidia, and it says that everything is OK, except that the kernel module is not loaded.

Any ideas what's going on?

I haven't!

Thanks very much,
Merlin

(yes, that IS my real name)
E4MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-02, 04:18 AM   #2
Amidamaru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Default

I guess if u used the Tar package you must recompile the kernel first. But plz dun ask me how that works ^^;;;; cuz i always used the RPM packages...
Amidamaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-02, 05:59 AM   #3
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Have you tried modprobing the nvidia driver and see if X runs after that??

modprobe nvidia
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-03, 11:51 AM   #4
E4MT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Default

'fraid I tried the modprobe command. It reported the module as loaded, but X still refused to start.
E4MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-03, 11:15 PM   #5
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

What errors do you get when X refuses to start??
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.