Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-05, 07:08 PM   #1
IronBunny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default telinit 3 Satan?

I downloaded the only linux driver for a GeForce 4 4200 that i found on the NVidia site, but when i execute the file in the command prompt, and i get my hopes up, a message box pops up that says I need to shut down x server. I have no idea how to do this. So I looked it up on the internet, and after several results say to typ "telinit 3" in a command prompt as a root user, I tried it. nothing at all happened except i get a message that says bash: telinit: command not found. i then found another another site which said to try init 3...nothing...anyway now im getting unbelievably frustrated with this whole init 3 thing, if anyone can tell me of an alternate way to shut down x server in fedora core 3, I will be your best friend. *desperate* any help with this would be greatly appreciated O_O.
IronBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-05, 07:27 PM   #2
silentplummet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

ctrl-alt-backspace
silentplummet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-05, 10:46 AM   #3
cjcox
Registered User
 
cjcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 110
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

You need to be root. You can just say "init 3" on a Linux box.. pretty much the same thing there.
cjcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-05, 11:26 PM   #4
IronBunny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

i was root, and i did try init 3...my problem is that supposedly the command doesnt exist supposedly...this is why I am so bloody frustrated its making me crazy!

recap of everything i have tried to shutdown X...as root

telinit 3
init 3

neither works and both i get a bash message that says the command doesnt exist. Do I need to do this in a command box before i log into linux? or is there a "root" user taht i dont know about? because right now i just logon to fedora core 3 and then open a command prompt, type in "su" and then my root password, then this telinit 3 thing doesnt log out of x...it makes no sense at all, so if i need to be logging into linux with a secret root username, let me know. and how to open a prompt in the logon window might be helpful as well...
IronBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 03:30 AM   #5
Pizbit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Pizbit Send a message via AIM to Pizbit Send a message via MSN to Pizbit Send a message via Yahoo to Pizbit
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

(Assuming Fedora doesn't change things it shouldn't...)
Being a gnome distibution I'm assuming is uses gdm
Try this command in a console as root:
/etc/init.d/gdm stop
And then change stop to start once you've installed the driver:
/etc/init.d/gdm start
Pizbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 03:36 AM   #6
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

@IronBunny: did you login as root or `su`? In the latter case, `/sbin/init 3` or `su -` and `init 3` likely work better; else try what Pizbit suggested.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 10:33 AM   #7
IronBunny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

i used su....so i should try adding 'su-' as a prefix for those sort of commands when i used su to gain root access?
IronBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 10:56 AM   #8
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

@IronBunny: you can either try `su -` or specify full paths with `su`.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-26-05, 12:39 PM   #9
IronBunny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

ok the '/sbin/init 3' works, kinda...after it goes black and leaves me with a blinking cursor i cannot type anything, nothing shows up on the screen...any ideas why?
IronBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 06:33 PM   #10
Pizbit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Pizbit Send a message via AIM to Pizbit Send a message via MSN to Pizbit Send a message via Yahoo to Pizbit
Default Re: telinit 3 Satan?

Ahh, you're doing that command from inside X eh?
ALT+F1 (or you might need to use CTRL+ALT+F1 instead)
And login as root, or normal user then 'su -' to become root.
'init 3' or '/sbin/init 3' depending on how you became root.
Then install the nvidia drivers: sh NVIDIA.blah.run
Pizbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Morning Satan: Diablo III Gets A Cartoon! News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.