Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-05, 04:17 PM   #13
n3oNx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Suse Linux 9.2 & Asus Extreme N6600GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3oNx
I only have a CPU (P4 3.2E GHz FSB 800MHz 1MB Cache 540J). I'll try to do this that you said here.
I went to suse and there, in command line, it says that i'm using 2.6.8-24.11-smp kernel. In yast configurating tool it says there that I have two CPUs but I only have one :S In Windows this happens also in device manager... :S

My motherboard is a Asus P5AD2-E Premium and the CPU is the writen above in quote.
n3oNx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 07:54 PM   #14
Thoreau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 95
Default Re: Suse Linux 9.2 & Asus Extreme N6600GT

Nice motherboard. You have one cpu, and I don't know why it's detecting as 2. I think you may have a chipset problem. If windows and linux thinks it's got 2 cpu's, then something is amiss. This may have to be attended to by the nvidia bug list aka zander and friends. I'm sorry. If the single kernel doesn't work, I'm out of options as a user. The driver is proprietary, so you must go through nvidia. Good luck.
Thoreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 08:26 PM   #15
n3oNx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Suse Linux 9.2 & Asus Extreme N6600GT

My brother has a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo D8830 Laptop with a 3.06GHz CPU and in windows device manager under CPU tab it also shows two equals CPUs.

Thanks a lot for the help anyway.
n3oNx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-05, 09:22 PM   #16
**RANCID**
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Suse Linux 9.2 & Asus Extreme N6600GT

I had the exact same problem you did. This is what I did to fix it. I have installed the Nvidia 71.67 drivers and am playing UT2004 right now. The frame rates are real nice and the game play is as smooth as butter. I went to the shell consol then became "su", typed in "init 3", <keep in mind I have already downloaded the latest driver 71.67 from Nvidia before I went to the consol> I was running the Nvidia 66.29 drivers. The installer requires that you unload the Nvidia drivers<this prevents the Nvidia.ko ERROR> if you are running Kernel 2.6, wich I am. So, to do this I type "rmmod nvidia" , next because I am running Kernel 2.6 I must do this next step as well, I type "modprobe -q agpgart" Ok, we are almost done, the next step is to install the driver. Now for me I run SuSE 9.2 with Kernel 2.6.8.24-13 SMP<I have Hyper Threading enabled in my system BIOS,SuSE sees the processor as 2 Logical Processors,because that is what it really is>, I have the source files installed from SuSE YOU<Yast online update>. I type sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-7167-pkg1.run -q -n
From there the installer installed the driver with out any problems what so ever. To configure my display I then type
sax2 -m 0=nvidia <0 is a digit not a letter> and hit enter. It took a few moments in my case for sax2 to start up, but after it did I adjusted all my display settings and then typed in "init 6"after exiting sax2. Note everything above that is in quotes would be typed with out quotes in the consol. My Box is a Dell
Dimension 8400 with a PCI Express Geforce 6800 GT, Pentium4 with H/T running @ 3.4Ghz, 1 Gig of RAM and 2 SATA 160 Gig hard drives. I hope this helps somebody. I was having a hard time after my install and it took a couple of days worth of re-search before I got it to work right. Thanks NVIDIA ! The drivers are F A N T A S T I C !
**RANCID** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-05, 05:49 AM   #17
n3oNx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Suse Linux 9.2 & Asus Extreme N6600GT

I've sorted the problem the exact same way
n3oNx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-05, 08:16 AM   #18
Thoreau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 95
Default Re: Suse Linux 9.2 & Asus Extreme N6600GT

I don't get it. How is that different from the other way listed?

rmmod'ing the previous nvidia drivers shouldn't matter before driver install- but maybe that's something the driver does for single cpu installs by default. Maybe the drivers as written don't do a "rmmod nvidia" on SMP configurations. Very odd. This may be one to submit to the bug team- since it's reproducible.
Thoreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
My SuSE 8.0 just totally BROKE. Help please!!! sephiroth762 NVIDIA Linux 6 10-09-02 02:30 PM
Problems with Asus A7N266VM - nVidia - Linux emmjanex NVIDIA Linux 3 09-29-02 11:52 PM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
How to install Divx+player to SUSE linux guide... kaarelcool NVIDIA Linux 1 08-27-02 07:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.