Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-05, 04:51 PM   #13
pelias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hellas
Posts: 11
Default Re: FC3 nforce4 unsolved sound problem

Nope, I get only this :

Nvsound: Nvidia Audio Init Module, 22:11:27 Apr 4 2005 version 1.0-2
pelias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-05, 02:57 AM   #14
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Default Re: FC3 nforce4 unsolved sound problem

I had the same problem, and managed to solve it. I have a huge rant at the MSI forums on the CA0106 chip and what a piece of c*** it is as compared to the EMU10K1 and why it doesn't deserve the SB-Live title, let alone the Audigy

You're almost there, all you need to do is install alsa version 1.0.9rc1 (or newer, if available). You'll probably have to compile from sources. That should do it. Couple of pointers:

1. Make sure you install alsa-driver, alsa-lib and alsa-oss.

2. Make sure you adjust the mixer volume once you have all modules up and running. For some weirdo reason, the default is 0. Don't max it out, though -- keep it at a *much* lower setting than you do for Windows, otherwise you'll get crappy quality sound, or worse, blow out your speakers.

3. While most software (mplayer, xine, etc.) are able to use the alsa driver correctly, I seem to have playback speed issues with xmms. However, xmms is able to use alsa's OSS emulation (/dev/dsp0) perfectly fine. All other software have playback speed issues with the OSS emulation

Angshuman
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-05, 05:41 PM   #15
pelias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hellas
Posts: 11
Talking Re: FC3 nforce4 unsolved sound problem

Yes It works. Thanks a lot.

But... I have no input channels and the balance doesn't work.

Any idea?
pelias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-05, 12:36 PM   #16
pelias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hellas
Posts: 11
Question Re: FC3 nforce4 unsolved sound problem

Even if I am able to hear sound I can't use my inputs.
I can't use line-in or mic.
They even don't exist in kmix!
Any ideas please.

Thanks

Panagiotis
pelias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-05, 04:15 PM   #17
lightsout
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: FC3 nforce4 unsolved sound problem

Use "nvmixer", you can control it that way. I'm able to use Skype fine with it.
lightsout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-05, 05:27 PM   #18
jcdutton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: FC3 nforce4 unsolved sound problem

I wrote the snd-ca0106 driver.
Currently no input (sound capture) channels are supported due to lack of documentation.
jcdutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.