Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-03, 11:04 AM   #1
doomski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3
Question Proper fullscreen on TV-Out?

Greetings, fellow Nvidians

Just got Twinview set up on my GF4 Ti4200 TV-Out under Mandrake 9.1 with the default (when the TV's on) metamode being "1024x768, 800x600 @1024x768" (my TV only goes up to 800x600).

But in that mode, when i want to watch a movie in fullscreen on the TV, i have invisible areas, because it fullscreens to the full 1024x768 instead of 800x600.

In the Windows drivers, I have the overlay set up for fullscreen on the secondary display (the TV), so when i start a movie in windowed mode, it automatically fullscreens on the TV, and I was wondering if there is a corresponding setting for the Linux drivers? Or even anything that can get proper fullscreen on the TV, without setting the primary monitor to a lower res?

And if it's possible, will i need a particular player to do it?

TIA for any help,
J.H.

P.s.: I've attached a copy of my XF86Config-4 just for ... i donno why, but there it is
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (3.1 KB, 235 views)
__________________
Athlon Thunderbird 1ghz, MS-6340M, 256mb RAM, GeForce 4 Ti4200 w. 128mb RAM ... yada yada yada ...
Running Windows 2000 Pro, Mandrake Linux 9.1, BeOS, Amithlon + the odd OS now and again

Last edited by doomski; 08-01-03 at 09:00 AM.
doomski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 08:56 AM   #2
doomski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3
Default Re: Proper fullscreen on TV-Out?

Anyone?

Then how do people usually watch movies on TV-out in Linux?

I've heard something about Xinerama, but haven't really checked out what it is yet, is that the way to go?

Also, before I set up Twinview, I tried configuring a separate X screen for the TV (in 800x600) but i couldn't get that to work at all

Any hints?

TIA,
J.H.
__________________
Athlon Thunderbird 1ghz, MS-6340M, 256mb RAM, GeForce 4 Ti4200 w. 128mb RAM ... yada yada yada ...
Running Windows 2000 Pro, Mandrake Linux 9.1, BeOS, Amithlon + the odd OS now and again

Last edited by doomski; 08-01-03 at 09:00 AM.
doomski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-05, 06:56 PM   #3
scsikid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Proper fullscreen overlay on TV-Out?

i have the exact same questions as you. it seems nobody has the answers because nobody ever answers any posts! i dont know if this is possible, and overlay really is something i really want to use. as well as the metamodes, id like those to work properly. but i do have the exact same problems as you.
scsikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 05:21 AM   #4
Wonder Tomato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Proper fullscreen overlay on TV-Out?

I've submit the same question last week and .... no answer

to follow
Wonder Tomato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TwinView, fullscreen on TV brosen NVIDIA Linux 2 10-08-02 10:29 AM
Overlay Freeze on video mirroring PeQuE NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-06-02 05:26 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.