Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-05, 10:47 PM   #1
Quartz01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default Ugh, I got a personal cinema card, how do I get my TV to be my computer screen???

Hey guys,

I just bought a PNY FX5700 128mb Personal Cinema card, for the sole reason of being able to use my TV as my monitor and watch Divx movies. I installed the card fine, installed the drivers fine, and I got the yellow, white, red A/V Compositve cables hooked up from my TV to my computer, BUT I GET NO FREAKIN IMAGE ON MY TV SCREEN. This is driving me bloody mad, how do I get my TV to act as a monitor????
Quartz01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-05, 11:37 PM   #2
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Ugh, I got a personal cinema card, how do I get my TV to be my computer screen???

If you reboot can you see the BIOS and POST on the TV? If not you probably need to select INPUT on the TV.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-05, 04:35 AM   #3
JohnEJohn
Who ate all the pies??
 
JohnEJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 387
Default Re: Ugh, I got a personal cinema card, how do I get my TV to be my computer screen???

Last time I done this (which was a while ago) you had to setup tv out in the display properties.

Try clicking detect displays and force tv detection also. (as shown in the pic)
If not I remember using a program TV tool many many moons ago
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tv.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	144.2 KB
ID:	12678  
__________________
|DFI UT x48 T2R | Intel Q9550 @ 3.85 GHz| Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme HSF| 4GB Pc-9200 reaper | |2* 5850 Toxic 1000/1300 | XFI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro | 8* Raptors in Raid arrays (Raid 0) | 2* LG DVD±RW| |PSU 880W Quad Rail | 24" Dell LCD| Win7 x64 | Logitech z5300 5.1 Surround Sound| Logitech G9 and G15 |


JohnEJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-05, 02:29 PM   #4
signal3
Live Free or Diiiiiieeee.
 
signal3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Ugh, I got a personal cinema card, how do I get my TV to be my computer screen???

I too like watching TV on my computer. For some time I was bouncing back between ATI All-in-winder, Nvidia personal cinema, and even the Matrox eTV solution. To be honest, none of these solutions satisfied me completely. After many many iterations I've settled on SEPARATING the TV functionality from the video card altogether. Believe me, I am MUCH MUCH happier now!

That is... for the last few years I've been running a plain old AGP graphics card + a brooktree based pci TV-tuner card (think Hauppauge WinTV PCI or Leadtek TV2000XP/EXPERT + agp video card of your choice). If you can spare the PCI slot I highly recommend you do the same.

I have found that this setup is far more reliable/compatible/portable (and ultimately usable) than any single board solution [I'm typing this on my FreeBSD/x86 computer as I watch the Mets play the Dodgers]. In addition, if you want to upgrade your video card to one of the latest and greatest chipsets (think GF7000 series) you don't need to shell out tons of cash for a board that has a tv-tuner as well, after all, the tv-tuning is being done by the PCI card (no need to upgrade that too).

It may be too late for some, but I'm hoping I can save some heartache for others.

That's my story... and I'm stickin' to it!
signal3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Personal Cinema running Slackware jasgrave NVIDIA Linux 4 04-26-03 08:59 PM
Personal Cinema not working on GeForce4 Ti 4600 MacGyver0013 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 02-08-03 11:54 PM
Which graphics card for computer upgrade? CHEVYMAN_02 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 09-23-02 01:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.