Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-02, 12:16 PM   #1
Will
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Nvidia + XFree86 4.1.0.1 + iiyama VMPro 410 horizontal refresh probs

Dear All,
I'm using Debian 3 and have installed the 2190 nv drivers - they seem to be working fine apart from one problem: when I first get into X my display is all garbled - for some reason it is trying to run at 30.4 KHz horizontal refresh rather than the prescribed 91.2. Then when I exit the session and start another one it is fine and uses the values I told it to in my config (see below).

I didn't have this problem when I was using the built in "nv" driver (before I installed nvidia's own driver) and I am sure the values in my config below work (they are working fine now after I restarted the session, and work fine in windows). I'm also sure that the config below is being read correctly (have checked /var/log/XFree86.0.log).

So do the nvidia drivers use some other config for the first session? I've not found *anyone* else who's had this problem, it's got me stumped

Cheers for any help you can give,
--
Will

/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
###########################
Section "Files"
FontPath "unix/:7100" # local font server
# if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/usr/local/share/fonts"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "pex5"
Load "record"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
Load "xie"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 91.2
VertRefresh 85
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Generic Video Card"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice "Generic Mouse"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
###########################
Kernel: 2.4.19
Geforce2 GTS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 02:12 PM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

You need to give up a hsync and a vsync range and not a single number.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 03:59 PM   #3
Will
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes that is what I had originally - didn't work - I put in a single value (that which worked for windows) to try to force it to use that (it still doesn't)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 04:12 PM   #4
Instinct
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Take a look at your XFree log file and see what it has to say, compare the first startup that doesn't work to the second that does. Maybe some insight there.

Or perhaps you should make yourself a custom modeline? http://koala.ilog.fr/cgi-bin/nph-colas-modelines fun stuff.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 09:52 PM   #5
Will
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That was one of the first things I tried - I made a copy of the log when the display was garbled... exited the session - examined the log - hadn't changed i.e. it was still running the same x process I assume.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 06:06 AM   #6
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

I didn't see your xfree86 log file but it can be that there were some errors in it related to resolution validation. Really put in that hsync/vsync ranges again. You can't force the drivers to those fixed frequencies since most resolutions can't use those values. (they are out of range for example ..)

Then add a line like this: Option "IgnoreEdid" to your screen or device section perhaps this helps.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 09:57 AM   #7
r0gu3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to r0gu3
Default

There REALLY shouldn't be any problem forcing EXACTLY what you need to when you use modelines... I personally run multiple fixed frequency monitors but i give them enough range to use the modelines i have written.... if you give it a really wide range, you can use xvidtune to tweak the values

- r0gu3
r0gu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-02-02 12:58 AM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 02:44 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 09:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 01:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.