Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-05, 01:32 AM   #49
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venturi
Augustus

I got a 4 of the 875 for a quad dev program and board, but I had to go and "buy" the 275s for my personal rig.

Anyone need some slightly used opteron 252s???

V
Id love some, but the going price seems to be high ; )
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-05, 02:56 AM   #50
Tare69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

I want some K8WE but it cost 725€... Then couple of 275 (1500€/each or more, if there can be find any)...

http://www.verkkokauppa.com/popups/p...o.php?id=16842
__________________
--
Tare69
Tampere, Finland

Last edited by Tare69; 04-27-05 at 03:29 AM.
Tare69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-05, 01:12 AM   #51
jasteele
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

@Augustus: Any time that I load a 32 bit Linux install onto my system, linux runs fine. However, if I load any 64 bit Linux Install, it will install just fine, even for installs with GUI's. It will install fine and when I load up the install, I get corrupted video output; things like streaks and "snow". The computer then apparently freezes. It gives me a static graphic display and no keyboard or mouse activity will change it. Here is what I tried:

32 Bit:
Knoppix 3.7
Simply Mepis 3.3
MandrakeLinux 10.1 i586
Xandros OCE 3.01

64 Bit:
Ubuntu 4.10 x86_64
Ubuntu 5.04 x86_64
Fedora Core 3 x86_64
Fedora Core 4 Test 1 x86_64
Centos 4.0 x86_64

I'm especially concerned that Centos 4.0 won't run. Anybody that knows about the CentOS project knows that it's basically RHEL_x without any red hate logos etc. For a distro built for cutting edge stability, it's not good to not boot up on a consumer grade system...

I just noticed that all of my 64 Bit Installs use the Gnome UI, but so does MandrakeLinux on 64 bit and it runs just fine...

Either way, the 32 bit installs worked fine and the 64 bit installs all crashed on boot-up.

Keep in mind that I'm broke so don't make fun of my weak machine in comparison to your guys' godly machines of goodness. It took me a few months to scrape up enough cash for this damn thing lol.

Mobo = Foxconn Winfast NF4UK8AA : Nforce 4 Ultra Chipset
Ram = 2 x 512mb PC3200 Corsair Memory Inc. Value Memory Series. Cas 2.5
CPU = Socket 939 Athlon 64 3000+ 512kb L2 Cache (At least it's 90nm )
HSF = Stock
GPU = BFG Geforce 6600 GT OC. Factory Overclocked to 525Mhz Core/ 550Mhz Memory (vs. 500/500)
Sound Card = Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer Limited Edition
HDD = 2 x 160gb UATA/100 WD 160gb 8mb Cache / 7200RPM
ODD = 16 x DVD-Rom; 52 x CD-RW
PSU = Thermaltake Purepower 480 (550w Max output but weak rails )
Cheap Gaming Case with a LOT of fans... They're cheap old fans but c'mon I got a total of 9 80mm Fans plus the CPU, GPU and PSU fans...

Anyways, it plays HL2 @ 1280 x 1024 with 4 x AA / 8 x AF with no apparent slowdown so it works for me being that I pinched pennies like crazy... For Example I got the Hard Drives for $30 each at Best Buy's Black Friday Early Bird Sales... IT WAS COLD THAT MORNING!

Of note is that the GPU uses a custom BIOS to always load the OC'd clock rates as default clocks. Also of note is that I run RC2 of Windows XP 64 bit with absolutely no problems so it's not a lack of 64 bit support...

I visited Nvidia's site about a month ago and their latest geforce Linux driver's release notes included how they fixed a problem with 64 bit linux kernels, but I cannot find that now...

Anyways, I appreciate any help you can give me Augustus, but I feel in no way that you are obligated to do me a favor or help me (Of course). I'm not insulting your intelligence or anything, just saying that I didnt want to inconvenience you and if you don't know the answer immediately, I MORE than understand if ya dont wanna help me fix it and that's fine bro, I'll go through other channels. Either way, THANKS A LOT for your help!

@Augustus and Venturi: You guys got some crazy systems, but it doesn't put a patch on the arse of this one:



4 + 4 Baby!



It's an 8-Way System in a desktop chassis! How? This is how:

http://www.tomshardware.com/business...tyan_4way2.jpg

It goes on top of the "bottom" mobo, covering up the original mobo's first four Proc/Ram Slots. Pretty amazing stuff to begin with, but to make matters worse, according to the page I got this info from, it uses the Nforce 4 Professional Chipset Technology. You can theoretically assign one Nforce 2200 to the main CPU and a Nforce 2050 to the other CPU's for a total of 128 lanes of PCI-e goodness... lol

It's hard to tell and I cannot find other info on this mobo, but it looks like this mobo will support 5 expansion cards in addition to the procs/RAM, so this is looking to be ONE SERIOUS WORKSTATION SYSTEM! Nvidia is gonna be adding multi-GPU (More than 2) SLI Configurations in the near future (With the release of their next series of GPU's) so could you imagine this system with 1 Nforce 4 Pro 2200 and 3 Nforce 3 Pro 2050's with 4 x16 PCI-e Lanes running 4 of Nvidia's latest pixel-pushing monsters in a 4 x SLI Implementation? And 8 875's to go with it? Oh man... Not to mention that with 4gb Ram Dimms, you can get 128gb of Physical RAM. With that much, what would be the point of Hard Drives?

Wow, seriously though. That's ridiculous. I don't know much about NUMA but if it could be enabled for every separate proc, you could have a theoretical bandwidth of 51.2 gb/sec... Stock. That's almost twice as fast as the fastest 256 bit wide (AKA Quad Channel) GDDR3 Speeds!!! If you OC'd the RAM to 250Mhz, you could get 64gb/sec. One big word: WOW!!

I just read that ATI's latest GPU's, codenamed RV520 (I think) will have 32 Pixel Pipelines and will be clocked up to 700 Mhz Core and 1.8Ghz GDDR3 (effective... AKA 900Mhz) That's insane. Not only that, but they'll probably support MVP, ATI's SLI-Like technology that is shaping up to be even more efficient than Nvidia's technology (And you can use any mix of any two ATI GPU's that support MVP!)

By the time all this comes out, they'll prolly have 2.4Ghz Opteron DC's out and maybe even 2.6Ghz (Though we'll be lucky if they ever reach that high within this year or early next year). So WOW, Just think of the possibilites man.

BTW, I don't just blow smoke. The ATI article can be found here: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/04..._roadmap_leak/

The Tyan 8 Way Desktop Mobo Link can be found here: http://www.tomshardware.com/business...t_2005-16.html

Have fun, and thanks for your help. Oh, btw Augustus and Venturi, I'll still envy you even when all the new stuff I just mentioned comes out...

@Venturi. Who do I kill for those Procs? You gimme those and I'll kill your guys and have to kill somebody else to steal their k8we... lol... Just kidding, I'm an angel
jasteele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 09:30 AM   #52
MCX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Hey Venturi,

looking forward to PNY's next QuadroFX based on GF 7800GTX and this with SLI?


MCX
MCX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-05, 09:57 AM   #53
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

EDIT : nm.

EDIT2 : i wonder if Venturi's going to update his rig with dual 7800GTXs
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com

Last edited by SH64; 07-02-05 at 12:11 PM.
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-05, 05:21 PM   #54
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

It seems that I gave into the darkside and moved to the 7800gtx sli.


The gtx's do great in games, but the quadros are more "polished" for 3d apps.

I will post benchmarks this weekend for a whole gambit of games and utilities. Please stand by.
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.

Last edited by Venturi; 08-03-05 at 09:56 AM.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 09:35 AM   #55
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Post Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Benchies will all be 4xAA 4xAF @ 1600x1200
Benchies will include:

64 bit FarCry
64 bit Red Faction
64 bit Chronicles of Riddick

Doom 3 (32 bit)
Painkiller (32 bit)
Quake 3 (32 bit) with 1.17 multithreaded extensions
UT 2004 (32 bit)
X2 the threat (32 bit)

If I can get Battlefield 2, I will try that as well.

Sandra 64 bit
SpecView perf (32 bit)

There will not be any HL2 (32) bencies. IMHO, I don't believe in Valve's or Steam's implimentattion and distribution. They game may be fine, but their methodology does not agree with mine. In the beginning I did bench HL2 with the quadros and got 167 fps all eye candy and 1600x1200. I see no reason to repeat the test.

I am hesitant to use 3dmark 2005 (32), but I will just for the purpose of feeding a score. The futuremark product, IMHO, does not really benchmark a system's capabilities or demonstrate real bottlenecks. It is unaware of the 16GB of ram, the 4 cores, and many other aspects of the rig. True, most games don't currently see all those features either, but they also don't claim to be a defacto benchie. However, I will run and post the scores.
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.

Last edited by Venturi; 08-03-05 at 10:00 AM.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 11:11 AM   #56
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Venturi: can u post your benches in this thread thanks;
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=54553
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-05, 09:13 AM   #57
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

that's cool Muya. Still installing the games. Need 1 more day of optimizations (this full time job thing keeps getting in the way...)



Jay
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 05:34 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 03:02 PM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 09:23 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 01:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.