Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-05, 10:29 AM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJM
your mixing two different kinds of ram slow crap with the good stuff. I don't see this working at all. When I used 4 dimms I used kingston hyper x which worked fine. although one thing I would do if I was you is test the value ram in all four slots by itself to see if all 4 dimms even work.
I understand how this could cause problems with running Dual channel, but the different sticks are in the same channel (ie, dual channel is set up between each identical pair).
I've never had problems running different kinds of ram in the same channel in other systems. This board must be picky as hell... especially since all the sticks are forced to the same timings and the same speed anyway.

If I get another gig of Corsair Value PC3200, it better work or Epox is getting an ear full
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 02:31 PM   #14
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

No, the board isn't picky as hell, all boards have this problem. Especially with the Venice and San Diego cores the only ones supporting 4x sticks without running at PC2700. The CPU is picky, if they were identical sticks you should have no prob.
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 03:22 PM   #15
Zerocool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 77
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Also just to let you know all Corsair is warrentied up to 2.9v
__________________
A64 3000+ @2.4 /Asus A8N-SLi Delx. /2x1024 Corsair /AudigyZs /PcPower&Cooling 510 /FC5 & WinXP
Zerocool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 04:47 PM   #16
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
No, the board isn't picky as hell, all boards have this problem. Especially with the Venice and San Diego cores the only ones supporting 4x sticks without running at PC2700. The CPU is picky, if they were identical sticks you should have no prob.
Hmm... well its good to hear about this now I guess. Hopefully the Corsair Value PC-3200 sticks being sold now are the same as the 2 I bought over the past year. I really want to order this stuff soon.

Man, Im going to be a big spender this week

MP3 player, new keyboard, CDs, another gig of ram...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 04:55 PM   #17
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Man, Im going to be a big spender this week

MP3 player, new keyboard, CDs, another gig of ram...
You are gonna have to work twice as long on the street corner tonight to pull in enough dough to cover that
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 05:01 PM   #18
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
You are gonna have to work twice as long on the street corner tonight to pull in enough dough to cover that
Hey Im workin on it!

*follows Gib into a dark alley holding a hand full of 1 dollar bills*

__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 05:10 PM   #19
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

For a hand full of 1 dollar bills he may take you around the world or at least around the alley and the dumpster.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 05:20 PM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
For a hand full of 1 dollar bills he may take you around the world or at least around the alley and the dumpster.
Yay!
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-05, 05:23 PM   #21
LBJM
Registered User
 
LBJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 627
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
I understand how this could cause problems with running Dual channel, but the different sticks are in the same channel (ie, dual channel is set up between each identical pair).
I've never had problems running different kinds of ram in the same channel in other systems. This board must be picky as hell... especially since all the sticks are forced to the same timings and the same speed anyway.

If I get another gig of Corsair Value PC3200, it better work or Epox is getting an ear full
all four sticks are being controlled by the cpu I doubt the cpu likes the mixing of the sticks. my clawhammer ran 4 dimms no problem at pc3200. I even tried the current cpu (san diego core) I have with 4 dimms both cpus ram pc3200 speeds but only at 2T thats why I switched to 2x1GB sticks. running 1T speeds things up for me and I can oc. I couldnt oc with 4 dimms. keep in mind the kingston hyper x I was using was pc3200 with 2-3-2-6 timings.

when I got the ram I did a simple test with both setups running at pc3200 cas 2.5 to make it fair
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=53219
__________________
Gigabyte ud7 rev 2.0
12GB of G.skill

wishing for an ARM based desktop.
LBJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 05:53 PM   #22
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJM
all four sticks are being controlled by the cpu I doubt the cpu likes the mixing of the sticks. my clawhammer ran 4 dimms no problem at pc3200. I even tried the current cpu (san diego core) I have with 4 dimms both cpus ram pc3200 speeds but only at 2T thats why I switched to 2x1GB sticks. running 1T speeds things up for me and I can oc. I couldnt oc with 4 dimms. keep in mind the kingston hyper x I was using was pc3200 with 2-3-2-6 timings.

when I got the ram I did a simple test with both setups running at pc3200 cas 2.5 to make it fair
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=53219
I can understand poor overclocking results but in my case 2 sticks arent being used by the system even though they can be detected in Windows with CPUZ... thats why I was a bit skeptical that it was just an incompatibility problem.

If thats it though, I'll order my ram some time soon.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 06:55 PM   #23
LBJM
Registered User
 
LBJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 627
Default Re: Ok, im really confused... 4x512Mb wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
I can understand poor overclocking results but in my case 2 sticks arent being used by the system even though they can be detected in Windows with CPUZ... thats why I was a bit skeptical that it was just an incompatibility problem.

If thats it though, I'll order my ram some time soon.
if 4 of the same dimms dont work together then it's rma time.
__________________
Gigabyte ud7 rev 2.0
12GB of G.skill

wishing for an ARM based desktop.
LBJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 06:22 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 03:38 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 09:03 AM
Confused Philibob Feedback Forum 3 09-12-02 04:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.