Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-05, 11:19 AM   #1
devansh55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

ppl,i just bought the asus a8 sli motherboard a venice core 3000+.I got them for a total of $270 and i also bought the INno 3d 7800gtx video card for a very sweet $477 from Hong kong.
Now i read the article about athlon 64 scaling with 7800 and i was worried whether i wud get the right results with my kinda setup coz the cpu seems weak but thats all the cash i had

So i wanted to know exactly how i overclock very safely my cpu to speeds close to 2 ghz or higher

My ram is a kingston cl 2.5 value ram.I read thru a lotta guides bout overclocking but it wu be best if ppl with similar config like mine could sugeest in very simple steps as to what values to change and to how much for a safe overclock

This newbie wud really appreciate all ur help.

thanks
devansh55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-05, 11:32 AM   #2
Dudes__Geof_
AMD64's Rock
 
Dudes__Geof_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 264
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

I have a 3000+ Winchester with an Asus A8V-E Deluxe, so it's similar...

with that ram you should be able to push to about 2.3ghz or 2.4ghz depending on how the ram will react..

I have samsung ddr400 ram, and I can manage over 2.3ghz stable, but under 2.35ghz

your HTT is going to be about 200, and I'm guessing your multiplier is 9, same as the winchester (I think)..you should be able to raise it to about 250 without any worries, you'll have to do a Manual overclock and if your bios is the same as mine there will be a frequency area under the Jumperfree Configuration and under there disable the Syncing for PCI-E and PCI, if you leave it enabled you could basically fry any cards in those slots, mainly for PCI from what I have heard..PCI-E is supposedly better with having the frequency set higher, but to stay safe, disable it..

Make sure you're ram is also set to auto, when I didn't, I had to reset my cmos (yesterday) and before when my cpu was clocked lower, it just came up with the error on screen instead of blurting however loud out of my speakers..

set your htt to start, to about 220, if it does that fine, for clarification, run some games, run a benchmark, and I use super pi to tell me when ive gone too far with my ram because the rounding messes up..instead of your htt though, if you can just raise your cpu multipler to 10, this will only change your cpu speed, and nothing else.

I suggest going slowly at it, and go about 5mhz at the HTT when it gets over 250mhz.

I'm also a newbie with overclocking but just the past week or so I have been messing around with it so I've gotten a better idea of how it all goes, i'm not good at explaining, but I can prob type it out again more clearly if this doesn't make sense
__________________
System Specs: AMD Athlon 64 Socket 939 3000+ @ 2.25Ghz on Asus A8V-E Deluxe - 2x 512mb Samsung DDR400 Dual Channel - PCI-E EVGA 6800GS - 250GB 16MB Cache SATA Maxtor - Antec Sonata II w/ 450W SmartPower 2.0 - BenQ FP92W 19" Widescreen - Microsoft Digital Media Pro Keyboard - Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Dudes__Geof_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-05, 11:36 AM   #3
devansh55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

so basically u r able to run a 3000+ at almost 3500+ speeds and performance.I uwd love to have that to make my 7800gtx fly
devansh55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-05, 11:38 AM   #4
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

Man, for $30 more, I could've got an SLi board. ****.

I could've/should've dropped another $150 or so on a a 6600GT and just stuck with it until I could afford a GTX.

Damn it. That was NOT thinking things through. I just figured that all nF4 SLi boards were too expensive. Mothereffer.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-05, 11:51 AM   #5
Dudes__Geof_
AMD64's Rock
 
Dudes__Geof_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 264
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

Quote:
Originally Posted by devansh55
so basically u r able to run a 3000+ at almost 3500+ speeds and performance.I uwd love to have that to make my 7800gtx fly
more than, you might be able to boost it up to 2.6ghz or 2.7ghz if you are lucky, well, if you can also set a ratio for your ram so you can make sure it stays lower at about 200mhz then you'd be good, mine does an auto ratio and it just runs 6:5, would be nice to be able to change it, then I would overclock this computer a lot more

Edit- Forgot to mention, how much ram you have can change how much you can overclock..I don't get the reasoning for why, but thats what I know
__________________
System Specs: AMD Athlon 64 Socket 939 3000+ @ 2.25Ghz on Asus A8V-E Deluxe - 2x 512mb Samsung DDR400 Dual Channel - PCI-E EVGA 6800GS - 250GB 16MB Cache SATA Maxtor - Antec Sonata II w/ 450W SmartPower 2.0 - BenQ FP92W 19" Widescreen - Microsoft Digital Media Pro Keyboard - Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Dudes__Geof_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-05, 04:17 AM   #6
devansh55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

just set the htt to 250 and the htt multi to x4 and you will get a 2250 mhz processor.
That is a 'safe' overclock, because you shouldn't have to mess with any voltage settings.


this is what some1 suggested me but i have a few questions-------
ok and with this kinda speeds what sorta temp. should be permissible.Also do i keep the RAM settings on auto or do i change them.What about the divider?and how do i test the stability
devansh55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-05, 05:31 AM   #7
Zurble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 212
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

with no voltage tweak, i can run my 3000+ at 2.6Ghz with SLI 7800 GTX on A8N SLI deluxe
i run actually at 2.7Ghz 1.5V, and can hit 2.8 prime95 (bios 1011 limit voltage to 1.55 Max!!!!?)
all this on air cooled XP90c at max load temp 48 Celsius (49 at 2.8)

at 2.2 you are not overclocking

2.6 Ghz -> 290 HTT, HTT multiplier x3, set to DDR266
2.7 Ghz -> 300 HTT
2.8 Ghz -> 350 HTT, CPU mul x8, DDR200 -> prime ok, but not stable in 3dmark (7800 pumping more juice)
__________________

AMD64 Venice 3000@4200+(2.71Ghz) with XP90c
SLI 7800 GTX @480/1330
A8N-SLI Deluxe, 19" CRT
1.5Gb RAM 2-6-3-3-2T DualDDR400
2x160Gb Sata RAID0
OCZ Mod 520W

P4 3.06@3.30 HT enabled
flashed 9800 pro R360 core/pcb @XT 432/387
P4G8X Deluxe, 19" CRT
512MB RAM 2-5-2-2 DualDDR400
160Gb+120Gb
Q-tec 550W
Zurble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-05, 09:35 AM   #8
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zurble
with no voltage tweak, i can run my 3000+ at 2.6Ghz with SLI 7800 GTX on A8N SLI deluxe
i run actually at 2.7Ghz 1.5V, and can hit 2.8 prime95 (bios 1011 limit voltage to 1.55 Max!!!!?)
all this on air cooled XP90c at max load temp 48 Celsius (49 at 2.8)

at 2.2 you are not overclocking

2.6 Ghz -> 290 HTT, HTT multiplier x3, set to DDR266
2.7 Ghz -> 300 HTT
2.8 Ghz -> 350 HTT, CPU mul x8, DDR200 -> prime ok, but not stable in 3dmark (7800 pumping more juice)
How can you hit 2.6 without adjusting the voltage? Mine is running at +0.3v to get to 2.5
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-05, 09:46 AM   #9
Zurble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 212
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

perhaps i got a good one , i was realy impressed to get 2.6 without raising voltage on that 1.8 chip
at 2.7 i had to raise to 1.5 and 1.55 for 2.8
but once you reach the point where you have to raise the voltage, it starts to need a lot of volts to get a few Mhz...
My bios limit is 1.55v, too bad

edit: but it is not only a question of luck, i saw a lot of 3000+ venice reaching 2.7 with little voltage/aircooled
you have to find a shop where they get new batch. The mobo/PSU plays a great part in stability too
__________________

AMD64 Venice 3000@4200+(2.71Ghz) with XP90c
SLI 7800 GTX @480/1330
A8N-SLI Deluxe, 19" CRT
1.5Gb RAM 2-6-3-3-2T DualDDR400
2x160Gb Sata RAID0
OCZ Mod 520W

P4 3.06@3.30 HT enabled
flashed 9800 pro R360 core/pcb @XT 432/387
P4G8X Deluxe, 19" CRT
512MB RAM 2-5-2-2 DualDDR400
160Gb+120Gb
Q-tec 550W
Zurble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-05, 01:20 PM   #10
LBJM
Registered User
 
LBJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 627
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zurble
perhaps i got a good one , i was realy impressed to get 2.6 without raising voltage on that 1.8 chip
at 2.7 i had to raise to 1.5 and 1.55 for 2.8
but once you reach the point where you have to raise the voltage, it starts to need a lot of volts to get a few Mhz...
My bios limit is 1.55v, too bad

edit: but it is not only a question of luck, i saw a lot of 3000+ venice reaching 2.7 with little voltage/aircooled
you have to find a shop where they get new batch. The mobo/PSU plays a great part in stability too
what are you running you multiplier, fsb, and ht at?
__________________
Gigabyte ud7 rev 2.0
12GB of G.skill

wishing for an ARM based desktop.
LBJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-05, 04:00 PM   #11
Zurble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 212
Default Re: Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx

actually i am at 2.7 Ghz (screenshot in the sticky thread)
running 300 HTT with HTT link x3, CPU x9, DDR266 -> CPU/14 -> 193Mhz, and 1.5V (althought it displays 1.55 in cpuz with prime95 running)...Max load temp 48C
aircooled XP90c
__________________

AMD64 Venice 3000@4200+(2.71Ghz) with XP90c
SLI 7800 GTX @480/1330
A8N-SLI Deluxe, 19" CRT
1.5Gb RAM 2-6-3-3-2T DualDDR400
2x160Gb Sata RAID0
OCZ Mod 520W

P4 3.06@3.30 HT enabled
flashed 9800 pro R360 core/pcb @XT 432/387
P4G8X Deluxe, 19" CRT
512MB RAM 2-5-2-2 DualDDR400
160Gb+120Gb
Q-tec 550W
Zurble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.