Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-05, 09:37 AM   #49
zakelwe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 768
Default Re: Nvidia 6800GT SLI investigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
I'm not entirely sure whats happening. My 6600GT SLI Investigation mimics the results seen in that little article. AFR load balancing wont show any any movement other than a static line in 3dmark2k1.. I'm not entirely sure on this one. I'll do some tests myself as soon as I can with my 6600GTs without the bridge to see if I can get reproducable results. This wont be right away so please understand.
No problem with the time Chris, appreciated that you might be at some point be able to have a look at it.

There are not so many bridgless results around so it is hard to draw an idea what might be stopping the increase, I've tried a lot of variables but it is always possible there are a lot more to consider. I'm pondering at present

Regards

Andy
zakelwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 10:14 PM   #50
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Nvidia 6800GT SLI investigation

Doing some benches right now. I'll have some results for you soon.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 10:52 PM   #51
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Nvidia 6800GT SLI investigation

Alright. Here you go. My results echo yours. But I made a little graph jpg for you to make it so anyone can see. I noticed 3dmark2k1 was using an AFR 2 SLI compatibility bit. I have a suggestion that may or may not help. As far as I know AFR2 profiles use the SLI connector differently than standard AFR profiles. So try using a standard afr SLI rendering mode and tell me if that changes anything. This test is exceedingly bandwith limited so it wouldnt hurt to try.

__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-05, 02:18 AM   #52
zakelwe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 768
Default Re: Nvidia 6800GT SLI investigation

thanks Chris for the confirmation, nice little ladder of results there ( all tremble in front of the 7800's fillrates ! ) .

I've tried all Sli modes and no joy. must be a bug I guess as it works fine ion 03 and 05.

Does it still pick up all settings from that file in Windows32 ? I might try looking at that, after that I will give up and see if it corrects with later driver revisions.

Regards

Andy
zakelwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-05, 08:35 PM   #53
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Nvidia 6800GT SLI investigation

Heh ya.. I've always been impressed by SLI fillrates.. I just wish I could have been more help to you. At least you know its not exclusive to you. The profiles are picked up from the nvapps.xml file in win32. But keep in mind. If you change it manually. You need to reboot because the profile isnt loaded into system registry until a reboot.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
TechPowerUp: We have posted a new review: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 SLI http://t.co/9D3U News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 11:50 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 05:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.