Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-05, 03:41 PM   #1
janeri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

I have a Fedora Core 4 system running with a GeForce 5200 (AGP, 128MB, XFX). I have installed the drivers with RPM as described on http://www.fedorafaq.org/#nvidia , and it has worked well.

I now tried to swap this card with a GeForce 6600 (128MB, Gainward). The text-mode part of the boot process looked normal, but when I should have seen X in graphic mode (1600x1200, 60Hz) I just got some funny stripes.

I swapped back to the 5200 and all is well. Any ideas what I need to do to make the 6600 work?
janeri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 05:05 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

janeri,
Are you certain that you're using the nvidia driver? Can you generate a bug report while the 'funny stripes' are on the screen?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 05:14 PM   #3
janeri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Are you certain that you're using the nvidia driver? Can you generate a bug report while the 'funny stripes' are on the screen?
Thanks for your reply. I am sure I am using the driver installed as described on http://www.fedorafaq.org/#nvidia, I could clearly see the improved performance with the 5200 card after it was installed. Unfortunately I am a novice on this, and I don't know how I could generate a bug report. I saw mention of the script `nvidia-bug-report.sh` and the file /var/log/nvdia-installer.log here, but none of them exist on my system.
janeri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 05:45 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

janeri,
The root user should have nvidia-bug-report.sh in its $PATH. If you can't just run 'nvidia-bug-report.sh' then something is either broken in your nvidia driver installation or you don't have the nvidia driver installed. Running nvidia-bug-report.sh will generate an nvidia-bug-report.log.

I'd suggest installing the official nvidia driver package from the nvidia website. That will assuredly provide `nvidia-bug-report.sh` once the driver is installed.

Thanks,
Lonni

Last edited by netllama; 08-12-05 at 08:15 PM.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 06:55 PM   #5
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Running nvidia-bug-report.sh will generate an /var/log/nvdia-installer.log.
Don't you mean "Running nvidia-bug-report.sh will generate nvidia-bug-report.log in the current directory"?
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 07:02 PM   #6
janeri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

It seems the Fedora Core 4 (FC4) RPM's is somehow not "complete" nvidia drivers - I was root when looking for the mentioned files, but they are not present anywhere on my system. If no other solution surfaces I will try removing the FC4-nvidia drivers and install the ones from http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html instead
janeri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 11:38 PM   #7
gideong
Registered User
 
gideong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

Same expereience here, but on a different distro: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=54452
gideong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-05, 01:51 AM   #8
janeri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
Default Re: No-go swap from 5200 to 6600

Thanks for notifying me, yes this really looks like a very similar problem. It will be interesting to hear if it helps to use another BIOS (I replied in that thread too, before I realised it was yours).
janeri is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.