Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-05, 08:08 PM   #1
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default GDHardware

Am I the only one that thinks these results look a bit off?

http://www.gdhardware.com/hardware/v...800gtx/004.htm
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 09:24 PM   #2
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: GDHardware

What part? A specific benchmark or card or all of the results?
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 09:41 PM   #3
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: GDHardware

The benchmark results just seem high to me.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 10:10 PM   #4
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: GDHardware

Actually, after looking at them closer, they seem way off on some of the benchmarks or else something is really wrong with my system.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 10:16 PM   #5
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: GDHardware

Yeah, some of the reported framerates just seem wildly high. It's odd too because nowhere in the review does the author make any direct reference to them in terms of FPS.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 10:16 PM   #6
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: GDHardware

The 7800GT seems too fast. In every other review I've read, its only a little faster than the 6800 Ultra in the FEAR beta. All of the framerates seem too high.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-05, 10:18 PM   #7
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: GDHardware

I'm looking more at the 7800GTX results; they seem much higher than most equivalent system's results in other reviews.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-05, 01:21 AM   #8
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: GDHardware

Yep some numbers dont look correct at all..
take Doom3 for example : how come he get 92fps @1600x1200,4xAA,8xAF assuming he was using the in-game timedemo! a 7800GTX SLI can barly get that score if it was running on Quality settings.

also 54 avarage fps @1600x1200,4x,8x in FEAR!! give me a break .. will maybe if he was not running at max setttings or the soft shadows were actually disabled.

SC:CT numbers also dont look right , with & without AA/AF number seems to be the same & more like CPU limited. thats maybe true on a GTX SLI but not a single GTX . again its only possible if he was running at quality settings or having some of the in-game options disabled.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com

Last edited by SH64; 08-18-05 at 02:00 AM.
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.