Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-05, 01:23 PM   #13
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

When I got BF2, I had to restart my router (WRT54G) ever 30 mins till I flashed the firmware.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 04:37 PM   #14
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

why does the plug n play mess it up?
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 05:09 PM   #15
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

Quote:
why does the plug n play mess it up?
has something todo with the way the routers handled unpnp packets...i think the way the routers handle the detection of upnp devices....
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-05, 10:48 AM   #16
Fam Money
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 57
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

I've had a problem similar to this one. Whenever I started a game of BF2 the very first time I connected to a server I always got disconnected. Then when I go to connect again I would be fine on the server.

Then my next problem would be the Ventrilo disconnects. After I got through the initial server disconnect Ventrilo would start going crazy. Meaning Vent would just disconnect, reconnect, disconnect....... It would then do this for about 15 minutes.

Well I tried disabling UPnP and it has seemed to fix my issue as well. Thanks retsam!

Here is a link to a program that will disable UPnP for those that are not wanting to disable the services manually.
http://www.grc.com/unpnp/unpnp.htm
__________________
2600+ AthlonXP-M @ 2.53Ghz
220*11.5 @ 1.725 Vcore
Thermalright SLK-947U w/ Enermax 92mm Fan
Patriot 3200XBL @ 220 2-2-2-6 2.60 Volts
BFG 6800GT OC @ 400/1100
Abit NF7-S Rev 2 @ Merlin's Taipan 26
Fam Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-05, 04:37 PM   #17
Raje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West US
Posts: 172
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

GRC rules. Same one I used. Has a few good reads about computer security as well.
__________________
Tyan Thunder K8WE (s2895); ThermalTake Armor; Dual AMD Opteron 252; Zalman 7000 AlCu; 4GB OCZ Server DDR400 ECC (4x1GB; 2 per CPU)
300GB Maxtor SATA150 16MB cache HDD (x2); EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800GTX; NEC DL DVD 3540A; Dell 2405FPW; PCPower&Cooling Turbo-Cool 850 SSI


AquaMark3: 90378; 3DMark01SE: 28563; 3DMark03: 33633; 3DMark05: 8091
Raje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-05, 10:54 PM   #18
Fam Money
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 57
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

It is a great site. I've been going there since I got the net back in 2000.
__________________
2600+ AthlonXP-M @ 2.53Ghz
220*11.5 @ 1.725 Vcore
Thermalright SLK-947U w/ Enermax 92mm Fan
Patriot 3200XBL @ 220 2-2-2-6 2.60 Volts
BFG 6800GT OC @ 400/1100
Abit NF7-S Rev 2 @ Merlin's Taipan 26
Fam Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-05, 12:34 AM   #19
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: BF2: messes up network?

Quote:
Well I tried disabling UPnP and it has seemed to fix my issue as well. Thanks retsam!
no problem, glad i could be of some help... people dont realize that unpnp can comprimise not just security but router stability...
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Giant Stirs: Zynga Shows Social Network, Farmville 2 News Archived News Items 1 06-29-12 04:07 AM
Tiny Georgia telco files first network neutrality complaint News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:40 PM
nvidia: using adaptive network models, indiv's are rep'd as nodes on a network w/ edg News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 09:00 PM
My Gig network :D Rakeesh Benchmarking And Overclocking 9 05-01-12 05:35 PM
redhat 8 nforce network success cd21 NVIDIA Linux 2 10-07-02 08:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.