Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-05, 02:58 AM   #1
Wonder Tomato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default TV OUT, only overlay ?

Hi every body,
i'm using ubuntu (debian + xorg) and nvidia geforce Ti 4200.
i have two monitors: a 19'' dell and my tv on s-video connector.
i want to watch video (divx, mpeg, etc...) and my hauppauge tv card on my TV.

how to redirect overlay video (and only overlay video) to my TV windows xp do this...but....not my ubuntu

thx
Wonder Tomato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 02:51 PM   #2
Intangir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: TV OUT, only overlay ?

this is the same thing im trying to do

has anyone come up with a working way? it works in windows
i can play full screen video to my TV out (2nd display) and the window doesnt even have to be showing on the primary, i can play WoW which takes up the whole screen while wmplayer players a movie full screen on my TV out

i wanna be able to do the same kind of thing on linux

i dont really care if it shows something on the 2nd monitor while im not using it but i definately care that it displays full screen video to the 2nd monitor (whenever there is a video overlay i guess)
Intangir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 03:53 PM   #3
superm1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: TV OUT, only overlay ?

For starters - are you guys using twinview or multiple X screens? I do have this working with multiple X screens. Only problem is I do it without xinerama since I don't care for being able to move apps among different x screens.
superm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-05, 04:45 PM   #4
Intangir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: TV OUT, only overlay ?

i was trying twinview
but yea i dont care about moving something between the screens either
i could care less if the TV is even doing anything when im not playing a movie

xinerama? is it hard to set up? if so post relavant config info
im gonna go check that out i guess
Intangir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overlay Freeze on video mirroring PeQuE NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-06-02 05:26 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.