Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-05, 11:40 AM   #1
HWJarausch
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Default no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

Hi,

I have a dual opteron Tyan K8WE (2895) board with 2 network devices.
According to http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8we_spec.html
there are two Two IEEE 802.3 Nvidia MAC 1000/100/10 Ethernet (1st from nForce Prof. 2200, 2nd from nForce Prof. 2050 connected to the 2nd CPU)

I've installed NFORCE-Linux-x86_64-1.0-0306-pkg1.run
but Linux seems to see only the first (eth0) device.

Am I missing an option during install?

Many thanks for a hint,

Helmut Jarausch
RWTH-Aachen University
Germany
HWJarausch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 01:40 PM   #2
Lithorus
Registered User
 
Lithorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 783
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

Have you tried with the forcedeth (already in kernel) driver?
Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 01:47 PM   #3
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

Can only speak about it regarding my own MSI K8N sli which also contains two network cards. In my case (and I think for all nforce4 boards with two network cards). One one of the network cards is made by Marvel but for use on linux requires nvnet or forcedeth and the second card is useally made by Realtek. Not sure what driver it requires though as I haven't had the time to fully install my system yet ..
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 01:53 PM   #4
Lithorus
Registered User
 
Lithorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 783
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
Can only speak about it regarding my own MSI K8N sli which also contains two network cards. In my case (and I think for all nforce4 boards with two network cards). One one of the network cards is made by Marvel but for use on linux requires nvnet or forcedeth and the second card is useally made by Realtek. Not sure what driver it requires though as I haven't had the time to fully install my system yet ..
The Tyan board is however a little different since it involves 2 nforce chipsets on the same board.
Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 03:19 PM   #5
HWJarausch
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lithorus
Have you tried with the forcedeth (already in kernel) driver?
Not yet, since I've started with a stock kernel in OpenSuse 10.0 beta4
which doesn't seem to have this driver configured.
I couldn't access any network card before I installed the nvidia binary-only
drivers.
I'm going to build a kernel from source, then I'll try the forcedeth driver.

Still wondering why the nforce driver doesn't seem to handle both cards.
Is it SMP ready?
HWJarausch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 04:00 PM   #6
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

The reason is plain simple as for one of the cards official opensource drivers exist, so why should nvidia release drivers for it? The card isn't integrated into their chipset it is just an optional external chip.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-05, 06:15 AM   #7
HWJarausch
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
The reason is plain simple as for one of the cards official opensource drivers exist, so why should nvidia release drivers for it? The card isn't integrated into their chipset it is just an optional external chip.
No! see again
http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8we_spec.html
One is in the nForce 2200 the other one in the nForce 2050.

OK, I'll file a bug report.
HWJarausch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-05, 10:03 AM   #8
Lithorus
Registered User
 
Lithorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 783
Default Re: no 2nd network device on Tyan K8WE

If you check the diagram in the pdf manual you will see that the actual network chip is manufactured by Marvell an does differ a little. (SSE1111CAA and 88E1111CAA) You could try with the sk98lin driver or the driver distributed by Marvell.
Either way, don't consider the nvidia distributed nforce driver the best driver for the onboard LAN. It really is the one included in the kernel.
Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 07:48 PM
Undefined Device Error - Can't startx linuxdave NVIDIA Linux 2 08-07-02 04:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.