Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-05, 06:21 AM   #1
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Where is the Q4 demo?

Will this be the first Quake without a demo before the game?
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 07:02 AM   #2
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

LOL, like I said in the other thread, they'll pull a Doom 3 and wait 2 months after release to put out a demo of anything. iD has gotten a little lazy about stuff like that.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 07:04 AM   #3
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Yep that's true, but I read never something about a demo. I hope it still comes before the gamerelease.
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 10:18 AM   #4
ST:DS9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 274
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

If they bring out a demo for Q4 before release, then they will loose sales. I know that if Doom 3 had a demo before release, then I would have waited to get Doom 3 when it went below $30. Demos usually done help top tier games like this, especially if it ends up lacking and the developers/publisher knows it. They want those hype sales, and get people to buy it who would not have normally bought it if there was a demo before release.
ST:DS9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 10:29 AM   #5
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Good point ST..... imagine if Q4 does sux I'd seriously consider giving up PC gaming. If Raven can't make Quake4 good, there's no hope
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 10:49 AM   #6
AgentOtaku
The Big Boss
 
AgentOtaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: .....somewhere in Alaska
Posts: 50
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Yeah, I imagine they'll wait to release the demo after the game is out to help sells.

I'm sorry but I won't buy a game without having played it first. Example: while I love Doom 3, I do regret having payed $55 dollars for it before having played it. It was more or less worth $30

But I'm sure QIV will be good....maybe not great, but good
__________________
P4 3.0GHZ HT/Windows XP; BFG 6800GT OC 256mb; 2gb Kingston/Corsair PC3200 DDR 400; Sound Blaster Audigy2; Samsung 80gig 7200rpm HDD =x2; Samsung 52x CDR/CDRW ; NEC DVD DL Burner; Abit IS7 - E Mobo; 172x Samsung LCD; Thermaltake Tsunami Dream case; Logitech MX510; Zippy Ultra-thin Eluminated Keyboard

"I never minded piracy. Anyone who minds about piracy is full of ****. Anyone who pirates your game wasnít going to buy it anyway!" - Warren Spector


Gamertag: AgentOtaku
AgentOtaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 10:50 AM   #7
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Probably the same reason as with doom3, it would take them too much time before the release to do it so expect it no way near soon after the release which btw sucks.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 11:52 AM   #8
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST:DS9
If they bring out a demo for Q4 before release, then they will loose sales. I know that if Doom 3 had a demo before release, then I would have waited to get Doom 3 when it went below $30. Demos usually done help top tier games like this, especially if it ends up lacking and the developers/publisher knows it. They want those hype sales, and get people to buy it who would not have normally bought it if there was a demo before release.

That's an interesting point you got there, maybe true, but on the other side, an MP demo doesn't hurt, like they did with Q3.

zeero1978, yep that's the good old duke3d splashscreen. I once had an animated version exaclty like the game, but lost it.
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-07-05, 12:18 PM   #9
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeero1978
duke nukem forever to develop...
Maybe its for the best Duke4Ever never seeing the daylight, so we remember it always as a good game
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 12:19 PM   #10
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST:DS9
If they bring out a demo for Q4 before release, then they will loose sales. I know that if Doom 3 had a demo before release, then I would have waited to get Doom 3 when it went below $30. Demos usually done help top tier games like this, especially if it ends up lacking and the developers/publisher knows it. They want those hype sales, and get people to buy it who would not have normally bought it if there was a demo before release.
Half Life 2 didn't have a demo before release.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 12:23 PM   #11
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

No demo, no money (from me, that is)
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 01:11 PM   #12
AgentOtaku
The Big Boss
 
AgentOtaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: .....somewhere in Alaska
Posts: 50
Default Re: Where is the Q4 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinner
Will this be the first Quake without a demo before the game?
holy sh!t your right!

gaming has changed indeed
__________________
P4 3.0GHZ HT/Windows XP; BFG 6800GT OC 256mb; 2gb Kingston/Corsair PC3200 DDR 400; Sound Blaster Audigy2; Samsung 80gig 7200rpm HDD =x2; Samsung 52x CDR/CDRW ; NEC DVD DL Burner; Abit IS7 - E Mobo; 172x Samsung LCD; Thermaltake Tsunami Dream case; Logitech MX510; Zippy Ultra-thin Eluminated Keyboard

"I never minded piracy. Anyone who minds about piracy is full of ****. Anyone who pirates your game wasnít going to buy it anyway!" - Warren Spector


Gamertag: AgentOtaku
AgentOtaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lego Batman 2‚?≤s Dynamic Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 01:40 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Sounds Good: Resonance Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:20 PM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 10:30 AM
BF1942 demo and Refresh Force cricket Gaming Central 2 09-04-02 09:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.