Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-05, 10:39 PM   #1
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Are there recommended requirements on the box?

I cannot find them on the web, and I've searched around the forum here with no luck. Do they not publish any recommended specs?

I ran Doom 3 fine on my 2400+ on high settings, but am wondering if I cna do the same with Q4....
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 10:46 PM   #2
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Are there recommended requirements on the box?

I just see min requirements listed on the box. I haven't gotten far yet in Q4 but it seems to run pretty much like Doom 3 so if you ran it fine, Q4 will probably be okay also.

Edit: This thread has the min requirements in it (as listed on the box).

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=57901
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 12:56 PM   #3
alucard_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 210
Default Re: Are there recommended requirements on the box?

those min requirements are very generous. q4 will eat your system alive.. and from what i can see on some benchmarks that techreport.com linked to, it seems that this game is more cpu limited than vid card.

i have a amd 2500-m @ 2.3ghz, 2x512 pc3200, BFG 6800nu OC unlocked, and i get fps in the 40's in heavy firefights.. q4 settings at low quality in 800x.

i have a feeling your performance will be even lower. that is to say if your interested in MP.. if your just going to play through single player you should be ok.
alucard_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 02:14 PM   #4
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Are there recommended requirements on the box?

If Doom runs fine on your system then Quake 4 will. In fact, it seems to run much better than Doom in some situations.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizio's Co-Star: $99 Google TV box with OnLive gaming support News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 12:40 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 07:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 11:30 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.