Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-05, 05:29 PM   #1
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Thumbs up Quake 4 for Linux released.

I personally don't intend to use it, but I thought I'd alert those Linux-heads of you here to the fact that you can now install Q4 for Linux. That was pretty quick of id, I must say:

http://www.bluesnews.com/cgi-bin/boa...threadid=61272
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 08:50 PM   #2
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

Tight, downloaded. Finally some decent servers can be out there, however wtf is up with em havieng ot have 2.5 gigs of pak4 files to run heh!!!!

anyone know a way around this?
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 11:43 PM   #3
holmes
Registered User
 
holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 692
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

Oh HELLS YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!

id, you rock.








Unfortunately my rig is down at the moment...
__________________

The Rig
ASRock 970 Extreme3 AM3+
AMD Athlon II x2 260
DDR3-1600 (2x2GB) Kingston HyperX
Western Digital caviar 1TB
ECS GeForce GT 220 1GB
Cooler Master Storm Scout ATX case
Corsair 750W PSU
holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 02:34 AM   #4
kmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

I thought they'd delay a linux client release as much as for Doom3, and started to play Windows version. But now I can't load Windows savegames in the linux client, it just crashes back to X.. dang. I was already up to the recomposition factory!
kmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 09:40 AM   #5
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

badass I don't game much on my linux computer... but its fun to dick around with games on it now and then
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 10:32 AM   #6
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

I installed it last night and played, man that was sweet. I was sitting on my Q4 box just waiting for the client to be released. 2 days isn't bad at all, nice going iD!

No way in hell I was going to install and taint my box with some Win32 bloatware/shovelware so I could play Q4
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 05:42 AM   #7
HiT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

Whats so good/diff about Linux versions of the game?
HiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 03:15 PM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

Quote:
Whats so good/diff about Linux versions of the game?
There's various arguments about which os gets more frames per second, IQ and so on. Personally I found D3 to play/look the same on either, tho I didn't run benchies. Sometimes it's just an 'I hate anything ms' thing. Thanks for the linky btw Subtestube!
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-05, 02:13 AM   #9
smthmlk.
linux.
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 102
Default Re: Quake 4 for Linux released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiT
Whats so good/diff about Linux versions of the game?
Perhaps it's the fact that some of us don't use windows... at all. That's a pretty good thing about the Linux version hehe
smthmlk. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of Defeat: Source and Half-Life 2: Deathmatch Updates Released News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 10:50 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 07:49 AM
Cafu Engine 12.05 Released News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 03:20 PM
CUVILib v1.2 released News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 08:40 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 10:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.