Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-05, 12:39 AM   #1
ultimate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default how can i minimize back to windows?

how do i minimize my q4 and return to windows
ultimate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 07:05 AM   #2
ultimate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

bump!
ultimate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 08:25 AM   #3
Killall
goodmorning mr. Freeman
 
Killall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stuck in cyberspace...
Posts: 138
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

U can, but its buggy.. open another program in background be4 u launch q4.. then press alt tab to switch to that program. My screen was all messed up after i did that and never could get to the alt tabbed program. (resolution problem). But i think it will work for u.
__________________
MSI 975x Plat. PUE
Intel Core2Duo 6600E
XFX Geforce 8800 GTX
2x1024 mb Corsair PC6400C4
2x80G Maxtor HD's, SATA, Raid 0
Creative Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Speaker setup
Iyama MA203DT
And a ****load of games
Killall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 10:37 AM   #4
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

Works like a charm in some games, others hate it. Although watch you dont alt+tab while playing, some strogg might just blow you to tiny pecies.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 01:45 PM   #5
alucard_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 210
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

this typicaly is not supported in iD opengl games. instead.. you can do,

r_fullscreen 0
vid_restart
alucard_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-05, 05:58 AM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

ctrl+alt+del , but it will get you only to see the taskbar.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-05, 07:12 AM   #7
ultimate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

thanks for the feed back but nothing is working lol yes i did alt tab the game slowed down and i coudlnt even access any windows this sucks .. guess i`d have to wait for a q4 minimizer like there was one for q3
ultimate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-05, 07:38 AM   #8
Yuet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: at home somewhere in UK
Posts: 91
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

Press the "start" key? Some games work.
__________________
SYS 1: Intel E6600, 4 x 1GB Kingston DDR2, Leadtek 8800 GT, and a Gigabyte P35 motherboard (can't remember the model name)

SYS 2: ECS KN1 SLI Extreme, AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+, 2 x 512MB Corsair TWINX, Saphire HD3870
Yuet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-05, 08:05 AM   #9
alucard_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 210
Default Re: how can i minimize back to windows?

ultimate.. there's no reason going into window mode should not work. after you execute the vid_restart command you have to give your system time to complete it. its going to freeze it up for a few seconds but it should eventually show the desktop and have the game in a window.
alucard_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
Thinking about switching back to Windows if I can't get this to work!!! dungscooperdave NVIDIA Linux 7 08-15-02 08:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.