Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-03, 12:36 AM   #1
vbp6us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Default X Crashes when my computer starts..

When i turn my computer on it runs fine all they way up to where i login. I installed the .rpm files correctly and then restarted my computer. After the Nvidia logo comes up the kde login comes up but it freezes at that screen. I cant CTRL+ALT+DEL or anything else. It locks up really hard.


I cant see the error it's giving either for some reason. Whats going on?

Im using SuSE 8.1 and my card is a nvidia TNT2 32mb. I downloaded the 4191.1586.rpm kernel and GLX file for SuSE 8.1.

X crashes and i cant login...please help.
vbp6us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-03, 05:17 PM   #2
vbp6us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Anyone???????


ive searched all the other "x crashes" threads and stuff on google but nothing similar to mine. I cant even see the error. Oh well i reinstalled my SuSE and i guess im not going to use it for games.
vbp6us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-03, 06:06 PM   #3
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

If you boot to runlevel 3 and startx manually, does that help? Does changing display managers (to xdm or gdm rather than kdm) help?

I wish I knew what it was, but I don't...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-03, 04:08 PM   #4
vbp6us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
If you boot to runlevel 3 and startx manually, does that help? Does changing display managers (to xdm or gdm rather than kdm) help?

I wish I knew what it was, but I don't...
The problem is i cant even change the display managers at the login screen. its a frozen. I just reinstalled the OS and this time im going to compile the drivers fromt he source.

Thanks.
vbp6us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-03, 06:46 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

OK, once you get that done, if you still see the same problems, try editing /etc/inittab. You'll have to boot to runlevel 3 once (by telling your bootloader to append a "3" to the kernel command line; in lilo, it's as simple as selecting the relevant entry, then typing a space and a 3, but grub is different) in order to do that, but once you've done that, open up inittab in an editor and change the initdefault line's "5" to a "3" instead. Also try changing the /path/to/kdm (that's down farther in the file) to /usr/X11R6/bin/xdm instead (or find the path to gdm if that's installed, and use it).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Comes after the K Computer? News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
3D emitter lockups, Computer not locked up DragonDru NVIDIA Linux 15 05-31-12 03:28 AM
Crashes now? Imperito NVIDIA Linux 4 10-09-02 11:23 PM
Serious problem! Computer that boots by itself!? DXnfiniteFX General Hardware 18 10-04-02 11:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.