Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-03, 08:11 PM   #133
Myrmecophagavir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
hmm, but the botmatch scores in UT2003 ARE more CPU limited than the other timedemos, doesn't that mean in multiplayer UT2003 becomes more CPU limited?
The bots need lots of CPU time for AI, that's completely removed in multiplayer.

Quote:
true enough. but the original UT was a bad example of a 3d accelerated game. the engine was coded the way it was because Sweeney did not forsee the advent of 3d accelerators.
UT's Glide support was very good. I'd say he just didn't foresee hardware T&L.
Myrmecophagavir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-03, 09:53 PM   #134
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Myrmecophagavir
The bots need lots of CPU time for AI, that's completely removed in multiplayer.
is the botmatch benchmark a recorded demo or is AI actually being calculated?

this question came up in an Intel vs AMD thread and nothing conclusive ever came out of it.

actually, everyone but me said it was just a recorded demo with no AI in it at all.

so....which is correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-03, 10:03 PM   #135
kyleb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 364
Default

yes, ai is acutaly calculated in the benchmark, and they are all on the unreal setting asweel. so unless you play a bunch of unreal bots all the time, the benchmark is prety syntetic as well. although it is still a nice little benchmark in its own right.
kyleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-03, 10:18 PM   #136
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
hmm, but the botmatch scores in UT2003 ARE more CPU limited than the other timedemos, doesn't that mean in multiplayer UT2003 becomes more CPU limited?
Not necessarily. The question remains as to where those additional CPU cycles come from. Do they come from just drawing the bots? Or is there a whole lot of AI being calculated?

After all, if a very significant part is just the AI, then that part will never be used in multiplayer (since it will all be done server-side). In fact, regardless of where the limitations lie, the game will be somewhat less CPU-limited in multiplayer than it would be in a botmatch.
__________________
"Physics is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it." - Richard P. Feynman
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-03, 10:20 PM   #137
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Myrmecophagavir
UT's Glide support was very good. I'd say he just didn't foresee hardware T&L.
Nope. If you pay attention to how the game was rendered in 3D, it totally does not make sense for any 3D accelerator. The benefit with Glide was basically that Sweeney was able to code more "to the metal," and thus avoid many of the stalls that the engine caused for other accelerators.

Said another way, Glide just allowed Sweeney to avoid the inefficiencies he put it in the focus for software rendering. It's not that the engine supported Glide well, it's that Glide was well-suited for the engine.
__________________
"Physics is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it." - Richard P. Feynman
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-03, 08:08 AM   #138
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
is the botmatch benchmark a recorded demo or is AI actually being calculated?

this question came up in an Intel vs AMD thread and nothing conclusive ever came out of it.
Hmm I have the source code at home so I can check tonight for ya...
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-03, 10:57 AM   #139
kyleb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kyleb
yes, ai is acutaly calculated in the benchmark, and they are all on the unreal setting as well. so unless you play a bunch of unreal bots all the time, the benchmark is prety syntetic as well. although it is still a nice little benchmark in its own right.


!!!!
kyleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-03, 11:58 AM   #140
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Yes, this means that the botmatch scores are also much more unreliable than the flyby scores. In other words, whenever using botmatch scores, make sure you take a few runs. And whenever looking at them, expect that the benchmarker did not, and so the scores can vary by a few fps and still be within the statistical error of the benchmark.

The flyby scores appear to be highly repeatable by contrast, and make an excellent video card benchmark (whereas the botmatch benches make for more of a CPU benchmark).
__________________
"Physics is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it." - Richard P. Feynman
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NV30 name poll sancheuz NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 72 10-19-05 01:23 AM
Any details on Nvidia's failed NV2 for SEGA? suburbanguy Rumor Mill 1 08-21-02 10:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.