Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-05, 08:21 AM   #1
apparatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default System freeze

Hello. I have a problem. X loads up fine, but after clicking around in e.g. Firefox for a couple of minutes, the screen freezes. The mouse still moves but I can't kill X or switch to a terminal (thus I can't generate an error log). This never happens with the plain nv driver. It also seems like it will only happen on my desktop, when running a game (in this case, Alien Arena), it doesn't freeze. I have looked around threads with similar problems but it seems like those problems should've been solved with the new drivers.

I run KDE 3.4.3 on Debian unstable, kernel version 2.4.27. My motherboard is an Asus K8N (Nforce3) and my graphics card is an ASUS V9400-X/TD 128MB GeForce4 MX.

I have installed the NVIDIA drivers according to this guide: http://home.comcast.net/~andrex/Debi...tallation.html
For the record, my nvidia-glx is version 1.0.8174-1.

Relevant lines in xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Module"
	Load	"bitmap"
	Load	"dbe"
	Load	"ddc"
#	Load	"dri"
	Load	"extmod"
	Load	"freetype"
	Load	"glx"
	Load	"int10"
	Load	"record"
	Load	"type1"
	Load	"v4l"
	Load	"vbe"
EndSection
Code:
Section "Device"
	Identifier	"NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 4000 AGP 8x]"
	Driver		"nvidia"
EndSection
apparatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-05, 10:15 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: System freeze

Please generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-05, 11:44 AM   #3
apparatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: System freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
How do I do this? I can't get to a terminal when the problem occurs. Besides, I don't seem to have the bug script :/
apparatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-05, 12:14 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: System freeze

You can generate the bug report after rebooting and before starting X. If you don't have the bug script, then you need to install the official NVIDIA 1.0-8174 driver package.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce 2 freezes system under Direct3D Matthius NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 20 06-05-12 02:46 AM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Xorg crash and system freeze l_r_mcglashan NVIDIA Linux 0 05-17-12 04:01 AM
Why in Spider-Man The Movie PC Game only some levels i go to will freeze? imtim83 Gaming Central 5 10-03-02 09:21 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.