Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-05, 06:23 AM   #1
jozemi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Question How to Initialise second (and third) card before starting X?

I have two ge MX4000 cards that I need to operate using the ggi graphics library through 2 framebuffers.

When the system boots, only the primary graphics card is started. The other two monitors are blank.

How do I start the other two graphics cards WITHOUT starting X????

Regards

Jozemi
jozemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-05, 11:15 AM   #2
JanR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to Initialise second (and third) card before starting X?

Hi,

create a xorg.conf (or XF86Config) for these cards (important: different PCI-ids) and then run X -probeonly using these files. This does not really start X and exits fast, but it enables the cards.

I use this to initialize my Dualseat Dual Quadro NVS280 system in order to avoid conflicts during the real parallel start of both X servers.

Hope this helps.

Greetings,

Jan
JanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-05, 04:01 AM   #3
jozemi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to Initialise second (and third) card before starting X?

Jan,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, that didn't work for me. I am running suse 9.3. I know my xorg.conf is correct since the second monitor starts when doing a regular "startx"
jozemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-05, 02:37 PM   #4
JanR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to Initialise second (and third) card before starting X?

Hi,

this is not the point... I mean: Create a second (!) xorg.conf that ONLY contains the card that is not initialized. Then run THIS xorg.conf with -probeonly within your boot script BEFORE starting X. That way the card is initialized for the "real" X. This second xorg.conf is not needed to be correct in resolution etc... only important is that it contains the cards parameter.

Greetings,

Jan
JanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-05, 12:41 PM   #5
jozemi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to Initialise second (and third) card before starting X?

Jan,

Thanks - I'll try that.

To explain further. My application does not use X at all but I need to use three monitors. If your suggestion works, do you think I will be able to assign a framebuffer for each monitor? Any idea how to do this?

Thanks Again.
jozemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-05, 06:52 PM   #6
JanR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to Initialise second (and third) card before starting X?

Hi,

unfurtunately, I have no idea regarding that.

Greetings,

Jan
JanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.