Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-06, 10:01 AM   #1
traverse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default quad monitors (dual pci-x)

(Correction: PCI-express and not pci-x)

Hello,

I'm trying to get a quad monitor setup working on a new machine. I can get two monitors working on the primary video card, but the other two monitors remain blank. Here is the relevant information:

- Tyan S2895 A2NRF Thunder K8WE Motherboard (amd64)
- Nvidia kernel module version 8178
- 64-bit Vanilla Kernel 2.6.15

- lspci | grep VGA:
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV41GL [Quadro FX 1400] (rev a2)
81:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV41GL [Quadro FX 1400] (rev a2)

- xorg.conf: (relevant sections)

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "BlankTime" "600"
Option "StandbyTime" "800"
Option "SuspendTime" "1000"
Option "OffTime" "1200"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 1400"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
#Screen 0
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "HWcursor"
Option "CursorShadow"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "3"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "3"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"
Option "UseInt10Module" "yes"
Option "TwinView" "yes"
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp,dfp"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia1"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Qaudro FX 1400"
BusID "PCI:81:0:0"
#Screen 0
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "HWcursor"
Option "CursorShadow"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "3"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "3"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"
Option "UseInt10Module" "yes"
Option "TwinView" "yes"
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp,dfp"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen0"
Device "nvidia0"
Monitor "monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 82.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "40-150"
Option "UseInt10Module" "yes"
EndSection

# ----
Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "nvidia1"
Monitor "monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 82.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "40-150"
Option "UseInt10Module" "yes"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Option "Xinerama" "on"
Identifier "Simple Layout"
Screen 0 "screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "screen1" Above "screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection


I've tried altering the "UseInt10Module" and "Xinerama" options with to no avail. The Xorg log files keep reporting,

(II) Primary Device is: PCI 02:00:0
(WW) NVIDIA: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:129:0:0) found
(--) Chipset NVIDIA GPU found


Trying to set the "nvidia1" BusID to "PCI:129:0:0" results in either,
- the X server getting a SIGINT before any log information is generated, or
- the exact same error message,

Depending on a combination of options that I haven't quite figured out.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Dave

Last edited by traverse; 01-12-06 at 11:42 AM.
traverse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-06, 10:18 AM   #2
traverse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: quad monitors (dual pci-x)

Actually... *smacks head*

I've almost got it working now. I'll post the resolved xorg.conf file soon. I spend a whole day working on it, and I finally get it (almost) working five minutes *after* posting on the forums.
traverse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-06, 10:44 AM   #3
traverse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: quad monitors (dual pci-x)

As promised, here is my working X configuration for 2x2 monitors. The only slightly non-ideal part is that when an application is maximized, it spreads across 2 whole monitors (instead of just one, which happened to be the case when I only had two monitors working).


Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor0"
HorizSync 31.5 - 82.0
VertRefresh 40-150
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
HorizSync 31.5 - 82.0
VertRefresh 40-150
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 1400"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
# Screen 0
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "HWcursor"
Option "CursorShadow"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "3"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "3"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"
Option "TwinView" "yes"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp,dfp"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia1"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 1400"
BusID "PCI:129:0:0"
#Screen 1
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "HWcursor"
Option "CursorShadow"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "3"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "3"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"
Option "TwinView" "yes"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp,dfp"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen0"
Device "nvidia0"
Monitor "monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 82.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "40-150"
EndSection

# ----
Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "nvidia1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 82.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "40-150"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Option "Xinerama" "on"
Identifier "Simple Layout"
Screen 0 "screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "screen1" Above "screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection


The SIGINT error that I was getting was from having two "UseInt10Module" options set. Should have looked more closely at the log files - I didn't think one was really being generated earlier. My bad!
traverse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with dual monitors on 302.17 edsrzf NVIDIA Linux 7 07-11-12 05:10 PM
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:04 PM
$565.00 - DoubleSight DS- 2200WA Piano Black 21.5" 5ms Widescreen Dual LED Monitors News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 08:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.