Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-06, 05:27 AM   #25
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Dual Booting With Linux in Raid

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenyee
micro-ATX boards generally aren't as full featured as ATX sized server boards. The point was to get a board w/ onboard SAS RAID instead. You can still plug SATA drives into a SAS RAID controller.
Okay, I'll show my ignorance. I have never had a micro sized board, all of them are about 12x9.6 inches, so I guess that means that these were server sized. As far as the SAS RAID controller, from the very short glance that I took at Google, these appear to be separate controller cards...no? I'm more than a little confused about this kind of option, because I have found Raid controller available from $50 and up. But, I assume that from your and fhj52's remarks, that the low priced controller would not do the job. In the past, I have had motherboards with raid functions that worked well enough in both Windows and Linux...is that a thing of the past? In any case, I can not afford to spend $400 on this. If I were going to spend that kind of money, I could build a second tower for less, and run the two OSs on separate machines. I do understand that a person only gets what they pay for, but is this the least price for something workable?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-06, 09:05 AM   #26
kenyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: Dual Booting With Linux in Raid

Some motherboards do include SAS RAID, but they're bloody expensive (not in the $200ish price range):
http://www.supermicro.com/newsroom/p...ress091505.cfm

$50 SATA RAID controllers are mostly software...the problem with that is you'll need the software (really drivers) on Linux and Windows. Look for anything that works w/ Linux' dmraid driver and you should be all set. But be aware that you're not going to get much more speed out of it than software RAID built-into Linux and Windows (they can both do it inside the OS); you'll just get the ability to boot off the RAID drives. True hardware RAID controllers are faster than software RAID and don't need drivers in the OS. The OS just sees the RAID drives as one big drive...
kenyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-06, 10:46 AM   #27
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Dual Booting With Linux in Raid

At the moment, my main concern is recognition during installation of Linux. Performance would be great, but it takes a second seat until I can afford something better.

I took a look at your Super Micro link, but unfortunately, that appears to be strictly Intel processors and I'm going to stick with AMD. At the moment, I'm trying to find a GA-K8NSNXP 939 motherboard, but no luck so far. It may be like another Gigabyte mobo that I wanted and found out that it had been discontinued. It also has the Silicon Image 3512 Raid, which may not solve all the problems, but unlike the Nvidia Raid, Gigabyte doesn't list it as a software raid controller. However, According to this:

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache...id+linux&hl=en

It may still have some issues to deal with. I won't really know what it's all about until my head stops spinning.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-06, 11:19 AM   #28
kenyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: Dual Booting With Linux in Raid

Google for "dmraid Linux Windows" for how painful it is to install it. I looked and am going w/ Linux' built-in mdraid instead :-P
More links for your reading (conclusion is the same...real hardware RAID or don't bother):
http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/...=1879&forum=29
which RAID hardware works on Linux and whether it's real or fake:
http://linuxmafia.com/faq/Hardware/sata.html
kenyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-06, 06:00 PM   #29
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Dual Booting With Linux in Raid

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenyee
Google for "dmraid Linux Windows" for how painful it is to install it. I looked and am going w/ Linux' built-in mdraid instead :-P
More links for your reading (conclusion is the same...real hardware RAID or don't bother):
http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/...=1879&forum=29
which RAID hardware works on Linux and whether it's real or fake:
http://linuxmafia.com/faq/Hardware/sata.html
I didn't see your post until just now, and I got tired of running in circles and went ahead and ordered an Asus A8V motherboard. It has raid on a Via chipset, much like the MSI board that I had. I will admit that it lacked in performance, but that may have been partly due to the striping block that I had selected...only 4kb. I didn't realize that it would slow the system down as much as it did. At least with the Via controller, Linux could install properly and it ran moderately well. In fact, it ran better than XP did. I should get the board tomorrow and have it installed tomorrow night, so I'll let you know how it goes.

I got tired of trying to find better mobos, listed on the Gigabyte website, and finally got an answer to a question regarding their state of production and availability. As it turned out, they only have two mobos for AGP, one that I had tried, but had a series of problems with, and the other with a Uli chipset, which I had never heard of. The specs on it seemed okay, except that it had no raid function at all. It appears that the manufacturers are ceasing to produce AGP boards, so if there is anyone out there besides me that wants one, they had better get one now, or they may never be able to get one.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE

Last edited by seeker; 01-12-06 at 06:56 PM.
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Ti4200 and Linux Install Problem ultrajava NVIDIA Linux 5 09-28-02 08:13 AM
Dual ouput works in Windows but not Linux darkshadow NVIDIA Linux 4 09-23-02 04:37 AM
Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! dostler NVIDIA Linux 20 09-15-02 03:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.