Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-05, 12:06 AM   #61
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..



heh wow may have more users, but eq2 is far more superior in all aspects
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 01:18 AM   #62
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

Ugh, what a perfect example of how screenshots should be taken with anisotropic (and some AA would've helped). The textures look like a blurry mess in that screenshot.

But I've always said that EQ2 has some great technology behind it (feature-wise, anyway), but terrible art design. They took an engine with extremely advanced rendering capabilities (performance issues aside), and more or less slacked off when it came to putting things into it. It certainly has it's moments, but overall it ended up looking worse than it should've. Just for the sake of it, here's a random comparision shot between EQ2 and another game with a similar setting and character designs. Technology aside, which one is aesthetically more attractive? And I'm not even going to mention what system was running the game on the left.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kufcompare.jpg
Views:	681
Size:	89.7 KB
ID:	15201  
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 04:50 AM   #63
aop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

Post bigger pics. Left looks better because the character looks much more realistic. What game is on the left side?
__________________
*A64 3700+@2,7GHz San Diego (11x246MHz)*2GB 400MHz DDR*Asus A8N SLI*Club3d GF7800GT@450MHz/1.1GHz*80GB+160GB+250GB+250GB HDDs*
aop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 02:28 PM   #64
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
But I've always said that EQ2 has some great technology behind it (feature-wise, anyway)...
See, that's what I've been trying to point out all this while -- simply cramming all of the latest shader effects into your engine does NOT make it a good engine.

Give me a couple of books, a bunch of internet articles, and a couple of reference manuals, and *I* could write an engine with 10000-instruction dynamic branching shaders to implement parallax mapping, motion blur, depth of field, high-dynamic range lighting, and dynamic soft-shadowing. Of course, I will not have the time, energy or inclination to implement any forms of optimization. Occlusion culling? BSP trees? What's that?

The engine will have 3 quality levels:

1. Standard: All effects on. You will need at least a GeForce Eleventeenhundred GT-XXX 1TB in order to be able to run at this quality setting. You don't have one? Too bad, you don't deserve to play this game. What? Nvidia hasn't designed one of those yet?!?? Bad, bad business sense. Well, it looks like this setting can only be played on future graphics cards.

2. Very Low: Only dynamic shadows and normal mapping on. You will need at least a Quad-SLI GeForce 7800GTX 512MB system in order to run it.

3. Ultra Uber n00b Low: All effects off. Vertex lighting only, and sorry, no lightmaps either, this engine is too advanced to be able to support Quake3-style lightmaps on a current-gen graphics card. You will be able to run this smoothly on a 7800GT at 640x480 with no AA/AF, but of course it will look like crap since this engine is way too advanced for your hardware to handle.

After that, all I'll have to do is put in some spyware code inside the engine that installs rootkits all over the user's hard drive, and lo and behold! Sony Online Entertainment is ready to purchase my game!
__________________
Rig 1: Athlon64 X2 4800+ Toledo | BFG GeForce 7800GTX 256MB | MSI Neo4 Platinum SLI | 1GB DDR400 Corsair ValueSelect | 80GB Hitachi SATA + 160GB WD IDE | Samsung DVD+/-RW | Sony DVD-ROM | Enermax 535W | Logitech Z-3 | Logitech MX1000 | Dell 1905FP

Rig 2: Athlon64 3300+ Clawhammer | eVGA GeForce 6200A | ECS 760GX-M Micro ATX | 512MB DDR333 pqi | 10GB WD IDE | Liteon DVD-ROM | Athenatech A106 Case with 200W PSU | Logitech Cordless Desktop Express | Logitech X-530
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 09:16 PM   #65
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

yeah my settings werent even on high, and btw eq2 doesnt install any rootkit, they were taken from Sony Music CD's.

And yeah the picture on the left looks like a blurred mess of ****e

My PC couldnt run eq2 on max settings anyway, but i can still turn em up for screenies.

__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 09:32 PM   #66
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_Pitt
... btw eq2 doesnt install any rootkit, they were taken from Sony Music CD's.
I know that. I was just trying to increase the value proposition of *my* engine by including a built-in rootkit installer for free. Sony would love that.
__________________
Rig 1: Athlon64 X2 4800+ Toledo | BFG GeForce 7800GTX 256MB | MSI Neo4 Platinum SLI | 1GB DDR400 Corsair ValueSelect | 80GB Hitachi SATA + 160GB WD IDE | Samsung DVD+/-RW | Sony DVD-ROM | Enermax 535W | Logitech Z-3 | Logitech MX1000 | Dell 1905FP

Rig 2: Athlon64 3300+ Clawhammer | eVGA GeForce 6200A | ECS 760GX-M Micro ATX | 512MB DDR333 pqi | 10GB WD IDE | Liteon DVD-ROM | Athenatech A106 Case with 200W PSU | Logitech Cordless Desktop Express | Logitech X-530
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-06, 09:26 AM   #67
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

anyway my pictures posted = WoW pwnt, its really strange being on a video card forum and most people prefer WoW a more simple looking game, compared to EQ2 which will bring your rig to its knees.

I guess some people prefer simple games, Me i prefer complex ones
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-06, 09:33 AM   #68
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

Neither are really complex in any manner other then art and graphics, gameplay wise they are both pathetic and simple as the other. EQ1, L2 and DAOC have the most depth out of all MMOs available.

EQ2 has a great engine but SOE lacks the art team behind it, and the opposite can be said about WOW and Blizzard. Awsome art but their engine is only a slightly bit better then EQ1s (and even lacks some features that has been added to EQ1).

And before anyone calls me a fanboi of either I played them both and was a HUGE supporter of EQ2 before and during its early days.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-06, 08:51 PM   #69
killahsin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,496
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

Er i think eq2 has more depth then l2. what depth does l2 have really? L2 is a simple and fun, grinding pk affair.
__________________
Quote:
MSI 780i diamond sli.
8400 core 2 duo.
2 x msi 9600 gt oc's @ 760x1950.
4 gigs ram.
R.I.P. Ritual
killahsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-06, 09:28 PM   #70
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

WoW was made to run on low end computers, and i enjoy that, it works on a computer i have from 2000...
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-06, 10:24 AM   #71
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2 high end system verses WoW high end system..

__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.