Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-06, 10:20 AM   #1
kaloskagatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Unhappy Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...

Hello ,

I work on a program which runs on different platforms (HP, SUN, Linux, IRIX). I use it though an XServer emulator (Exceed3D) from a Windows2000 PC.

All worked fine untill today when I used a Windows PC with Exceed3D and a Quadro FX 540. Now the glReadPixels function returns strange values such as shown by the following code:


Code:
glReadBuffer( GL_FRONT );
glReadPixels ( xmouse-1 , ymouse-1, 3, 3, GL_DEPTH_COMPONENT, GL_FLOAT, z_picking );

whitch return on a well working station :

Code:
z_picking = (0.6561477, 0.6561477, 0.6561477, 0.6561477, 0.6561399, 0.6561399, 0.6561399, 0.6561399, 0.6561399)

and on the nvidia PC :

Code:
z_picking = (-1.222404e+37, -1.222404e+37, -1.222404e+37, -1.222404e+37, -5.576056e+27, -5.576056e+27, -1.222404e+37, -5.576056e+27, -5.576056e+27)

The consequence is that I can't locate a point in my openGl scene using the gluUnProject function, and I musn't change it...

What am I doing wrong, or is there a problem with the driver? Thanks a lot for the time you'll spend answering me, and forgive my poor english

Greets,

Kalos
kaloskagatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-06, 09:11 AM   #2
kaloskagatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...

Up
kaloskagatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-06, 09:32 AM   #3
marc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...

The call looks ok, but the result suggests that the size of 'GL_FLOAT' is incorrectly
set/interpreted somewhere along the line, because the numbers look like 32-bit floats in 64-bit double spaces...
I normally only do GLReadPixels with GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE as type (which has
kept me out of trouble so far)
marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-06, 04:13 AM   #4
kaloskagatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...

Hi, you should be right but I've found it could be a bug from the driver or the openglLib...


http://www.rage3d.net/board/printthread.php?t=33777945

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...3733550&page=7
kaloskagatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-06, 04:32 AM   #5
kaloskagatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...

I'm surprised this problem still exists... Does any one have a solution?

Marc, I've tried different combinaisons of type, nothing changes...
kaloskagatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-06, 09:23 AM   #6
kaloskagatos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...

Any idea?
kaloskagatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.