Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-05, 06:43 PM   #1
kemijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Odd resolution on primary monitor

Hi there, new to the site and fairly new to Linux at home, although I use it exclusively at work.

First my config - I have a Dell M70 laptop with a WUXGA (1920x1200) and a Quadro FX Go 1400. I also have a Dell 2405FPW 24 inch wide flat panel plugged into the analog port (the digital port is only available as a 200 pound add-on).

The problem I am having is that after using the nvidia-xconfig utility to enable Twinview, I have both screens running at 1920x1200, except my primary screen (the 2405FPW) isn't using the whole screen. It seems to be running at the correct resolution except that the on-screen image is squashed horizontally and there is about 3 inches of space at the left side of the screen that is not accessible and not being used. The display on the screen attached to my laptop lid is fine.

Here's the relevant section of my xorg.conf. I was messing around in it before the latest driver was released, so I imagine my problem is something I did if it's not something I forgot to do.

Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName      "DELL 2405FPW"
    DisplaySize     520    330
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
    ModeLine       "DELL1920" 193.2 1920 2048 2256 2592 1200 1201 1204 1242 -hsync +vsync
    Option         "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName      "NVIDIA Quadro FX (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "HorizSync" "CRT-0:30-81; DFP-0:31.5-90"
    Option         "VertRefresh" "CRT-0:56-76; DFP-0:60-60"
    Option         "TwinView" "True"
    Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
    Option         "UseEdidFreqs" "True"
    Option         "MetaModes" "1920x1200, 1920x1200"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       16
        Modes      "1920x1200" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1920x1200" "1920x1200" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Thanks so much in advance...been waiting a good while to be able to run this correctly.

Ken
kemijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-05, 07:45 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

My best guess is that you're using the same modeline for two different display devices.

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6
and then generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-05, 07:17 PM   #3
kemijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

Sorry about that...I figured that since my problem is certainly user error, the bug report wasn't needed.

The bug report log is attached as a zip.

Thanks,

Ken
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (28.6 KB, 123 views)
kemijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-05, 09:53 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

I'm not sure that you need either of these options:
Option "HorizSync" "CRT-0:30-81; DFP-0:31.5-90"
Option "VertRefresh" "CRT-0:56-76; DFP-0:60-60"

Where did you come up with the "DELL1920" modeline that you're using? Its not the native mode that the 2405FPW expects, and might be why you're getting distortion.

If you're going to use a modeline, try using this one:
Modeline "my1920x1200" 154.0 1920 1968 2000 2080 1200 1203 1209 1235

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 07:31 PM   #5
kemijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

Hey there Lonni,

Sorry it's taken me so long to reply to this...holiday vacation and such.

Anything in the conf I got from the internet somwhere...you know how it is, if it's on the net it must be true

I tried what you suggested (removing the two option lines and using your modeline), amongst other things, like not using any modeline (your reply suggested one wasn't necessary). There isn't any change at all. I commented out just about everything in the Section "Monitor" that identifies the 2405FPW except the essentials so that it still comes on. Still no luck.

I'm going to try starting from scratch as my conf file probably just has a lot of junk in it. In the meantime, if you have any other ideas I would appreciate it.

I've attached my bug report from the most recent attempt, and here's the relevant sections of my conf as they are now, before I throw it out.

Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName      "DELL 2405FPW"
    DisplaySize     520    330
    ModeLine       "my1920x1200" 154.0 1920 1968 2000 2080 1200 1203 1209 1235
    Option         "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName      "NVIDIA Quadro FX (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "True"
    Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
    Option         "UseEdidFreqs" "True"
    Option         "MetaModes" "1920x1200, 1920x1200"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport    0 0
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1920x1200" "1920x1200" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Happy New Year,
Ken
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (28.5 KB, 106 views)
kemijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 08:26 PM   #6
kemijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

Hello again,

Very shortly after I posted my last message below, I tried from scratch by letting nvidia-xconfig generate a xorg.conf file for me, with the twinview option specified. When I restarted X, it came up using both monitors correctly, but at the default res of 1024x768 on both. I went into the conf and manually changed the Metamode to 1920x1200 for both, and it reverted back to what it was doing before (see first post in this thread).

I changed the metmodes so that both the 1920 res and the 1024 res are both listed, but it still doesn't work, and I cannot switch between modes with Ctrl-Alt + or -.

Also, when I move my console partly off of the edge of the screen on the 2405FPW (the side that is not being used correctly), I get odd lines and colours in the console. This goes away when I move it fully back onto the screen.

Attached my latest xorg.conf and bug report.

Thanks,
Ken
Attached Files
File Type: zip xorg.conf.zip (872 Bytes, 122 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (27.3 KB, 115 views)
kemijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-06, 05:11 PM   #7
kemijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

Hello,

Wondering if anyone had a chance to look into this at all? Just making sure it wasn't missed by accident.
kemijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-06, 09:59 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Odd resolution on primary monitor

Looks like the problem is that the wrong modeline is getting used for the DFP:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "1920x1200": 193.2 MHz, 74.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1920x1200": 161.8 MHz, 74.1 kHz, 60.0 Hz

Have you tried using the modeline I provided?
Modeline "my1920x1200" 154.0 1920 1968 2000 2080 1200 1203 1209 1235

If so, please provide a bug report that shows its usage.

In addition, a few things that you might try:
0) Update to the latest FC4 kernel (yum update)
1) Test with 1.0-8178

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor not recognised after installing nvidia drivers Horaciusl NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-12 10:59 PM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:10 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
gf4 ti4200 - primary monitor turns off krotaaf NVIDIA Linux 2 09-28-02 05:07 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.