Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-06, 05:25 AM   #1
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Hello, have a pretty annoying problem - and cant seem to find out whats wrong - maybe someone have a suggestion i can try
I use twinview with two LCD's, one on DVI and one on VGA, the machine locks up randomly (usually within 2minutes at most 5minutes) after i start X.

My system is a HP w5295.no - a AMD X2 4200+ with 2gb ram. (cant find a newer bios then i have - 3.35) and a GeForce 6200 TurboCache gfx PCI-Express card.
I run a gentoo stage1 installation with very basic/mild CFLAGS.

Have tried vanilla 2.6.15 kernel, with smp, without smp, with preempt, without preemt, same for vanilla 2.6.14.6.
I also tried the pci=conf1 on kernel line, and i tried removing framebuffer support in kernel (as some suggested on gentoo forum) but still without luck.

I have tried different drivers, latest the 1.0-8178 with the patch from 11.01.06 - but the exactly same thing happends.
Tried the nv-driver, and it seems to work without lockup (3hour session).

I've ran the nvidia-settings to monitor the temperature on the gpu when it locked up, and most times its around 60C (its a fanless).
I can reproduce it very easily by running glxgears (usually 5-10seconds) and it either hardlock, give black screen or reboot.

The debug report is done with running X and switch to console, after a reboot when the system locked up.

Hope for reply!
Thanks in advance!
Best regards,
Chris.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (69.7 KB, 249 views)
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-06, 06:20 AM   #2
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

hmm, if i set Twinview in config to false, it seems to run stable.. -any suggestions?

ran 10minutes with glxgears now
bah, approx 15minutes and black screen
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-06, 10:39 AM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

I have a few questions:
0) Have you applied these patches?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62021
1) Does this reproduce if RenderAccel is disabled?
2) Why are you using the ConnectedMonitor option?
3) What kind of motherboard & BIOS version are you using?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-06, 05:18 AM   #4
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I have a few questions:
0) Have you applied these patches?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62021
1) Does this reproduce if RenderAccel is disabled?
2) Why are you using the ConnectedMonitor option?
3) What kind of motherboard & BIOS version are you using?

Thanks,
Lonni
0) Yes, they are patched in gentoo with the media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.8178-r2 package.
1) Yes, with and without twinview.
2) I saw this in another config file, i tested without it, still locks up.
3) I dont know what motherboard it is, its unbranded since its in a HP (i guess) - but it uses a ATI IXP 400 chipset and the bios version is 3.35.

Thanks so much for replying, this is driving me crazy

Best regards,
Chris.
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-06, 05:17 AM   #5
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

I now installed Windows XP to check that my machine actually is stable (hardware problems) - and it works great in XP

Have anyone got the nvidia driver to work on a Ati IXP 400 chipset motherboard?

Regards,
Chris
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-06, 11:39 AM   #6
bok1111
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Quote:
Originally Posted by zigzag
I now installed Windows XP to check that my machine actually is stable (hardware problems) - and it works great in XP

Have anyone got the nvidia driver to work on a Ati IXP 400 chipset motherboard?

Regards,
Chris
I have same chipset, and same problem
bok1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-06, 12:41 PM   #7
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

aha! maybe thats a good thing, a common factor!

Maybe nvidia guys can try this, even though its a competitor's chipset (wasnt intentional i bought it, i swear )
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-06, 05:44 AM   #8
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Quote:
Originally Posted by bok1111
I have same chipset, and same problem
what motherboard do you have exactly?
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-06, 08:29 AM   #9
ardf69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Hi all,
I've the same problem (compaq pc). The chipset is an ati rs480 (Xpress 200P); the motherboard is an MSI 7093 OEM with bios 3.40 from hp.
I noted that the dpms hang the pc too.

Ciao Angelo
ardf69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-06, 02:37 PM   #10
bok1111
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Quote:
Originally Posted by zigzag
what motherboard do you have exactly?
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-K8RS482M
bok1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-06, 03:11 PM   #11
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

Hmm.. i just found a old post about this same problem(http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show....php?p=780750), can Nvidia guys please comment on this problem?
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-06, 01:40 PM   #12
zigzag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup

I put in a XFX Nvidia GeForce 6600 passive cooler, and now the lockups are gone!!
zigzag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Reproducable Hard Lockup - RH 8.0 & 3123 brand NVIDIA Linux 6 10-05-02 03:48 PM
GeForce4 hard lockup with games under Windows XP Snap NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-27-02 02:37 PM
Hard times for NVIDIA Cotita NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 28 07-31-02 11:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.