Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-06, 10:04 AM   #1
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Sony Sony KD-30XS955 - interlace

Hello,

I got sony Sony KD-30XS955. I am trying to hook it up using the dvi output on my geforce5200 card to the hdmi interface.

To generate I used video gen with those settings.

> max_dotclk=150 # the maximum pixel/dot clock supported
> max_hfreq=130; max_vfreq=160 # the max horizontal and vertical
> desired_vfreq=60 # the frequency you decided to use
> mode 1280x720

max hfreq and vfreq were my guesses, because sony does not provide that info in their manual, even service manual.

I have found somewhere that its native res is 720p, so I used 1280x720.
desired vfreq was the standard one because I did not know what could I use.

Now I am able to see the picture, but I still not sure it the picture is ok.
When I change the res to 1200x700 I got better resolution.

How can I check what is my native resolution if sone does not want to tell me that. Later if I know the native res, how can I switch to 1080i. mode.
Do I need to change something in my settings in addition to adding "interlace" at the end of the mode?

Any one has expericence with that tv.

Thx
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-06, 11:14 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Sony Sony KD-30XS955 - interlace

If Sony is truly not providing any guidance on the native resolution, then all that you can do is hope that there's an EDID available. You can obtain the EDID by starting X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then inspecting your X log. If you need additional help, please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-06, 09:40 PM   #3
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sony Sony KD-30XS955 - interlace

i was able to get that info using edid

my server reports this:

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(II) Setting vga for screen 1.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NoLogo" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NvAGP" "2"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "RenderAccel" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "Overlay" "True"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling experimental RENDER acceleration
(**) NVIDIA(0): Use of AGPGART requested
(**) NVIDIA(0): ConnectedMonitor string: "dfp"
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xD0000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xEE000000
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce FX 5200
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.34.20.69.01
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 262144 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "DFP-0"
(--) NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: maximum pixel clock: 135 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: Internal Single Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Frequency information for DFP-0:
(II) NVIDIA(0): HorizSync : 15.000-46.000 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): VertRefresh : 59.000-61.000 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): (HorizSync from EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): (VertRefresh from EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Adding EDID-provided mode "1920x1080" for DFP-0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Adding EDID-provided mode "720x480" for DFP-0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Adding EDID-provided mode "1280x720" for DFP-0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Adding EDID-provided mode "1440x480" for DFP-0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Monitor1: Using hsync range of 15.00-46.00 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Monitor1: Using vrefresh range of 59.00-61.00 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Clock range: 12.00 to 135.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "640x350" (vrefresh out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "320x175" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)

//removed text

clock/interlace/doublescan)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "2560x1600" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1280x800" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1920x1080" (vrefresh out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1440x480" (vrefresh out of range)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1280x720":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal blanking width ((max(1650,1430) - min(1280,1390)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): = 370) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync start (1390) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal frame length (1650) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "720x480":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal blanking width ((max(858,798) - min(720,736) =
(WW) NVIDIA(0): 138) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync width (798 - 736 = 62) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal frame length (858) not a multiple of 8
(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device DFP-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Mode "hd": 72.8 MHz, 45.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "1280x720": 74.5 MHz, 44.8 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "800x600": 40.0 MHz, 37.9 kHz, 60.3 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "848x480": 31.5 MHz, 29.8 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1280 x 720
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No size information available in DFP-0's EDID; cannot compute
(WW) NVIDIA(0): DPI from EDID.
(==) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default
(

So looks like I can get all the info for my tv.
Now I can set 1280x720p without any problems , but
how can I get 1080 interlace?


thx
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-06, 10:23 PM   #4
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sony Sony KD-30XS955 - interlace

One more thing that i would like to add is with this config
I am getting low resolution on my tv.

[root@localhost X11]# cat xorg.conf

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Wed Dec 14 16:39:22 PST 2005
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"

# Option "Xinerama" "off"
# Option "Clone" "on"
Identifier "Multihead layout"
Screen 0 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
Screen 1 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "ddc"
Load "v4l"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

# DisplaySize 330 240
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "A75f"
HorizSync 31.5 - 37.9

VertRefresh 59.9 - 60.1
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"



Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "HDTV"
HorizSync 15.0 - 46
VertRefresh 59.00 - 61

Modeline "hd720p" 74.5 1280 1320 1392 1600 720 722 724 758


Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard Vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Option "NvAGP" "2"
Option "NoDDC" "1"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"

# Modes "1024x768"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "Overlay" "True"
# Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
SubSection "Display"

# Modes "1280x720"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "hd720p"
EndSubSection
EndSection

[root@localhost X11]#



in order to tweak it I have to make those changes
HorizSync 15.0 - 47

Why this helps???? and makes better screen ,

Modeline "hd720p" 74.5 1200 1320 1392 1600 720 722 724 758
two hundred instead of 1280

then I am able to fit 1280x720 image inside my screen(almost)
some parts are cut. Is there a fix for it?

thx
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-06, 12:55 PM   #5
spoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sony Sony KD-30XS955 - interlace

A good website to play with ...

http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl

Modeline "1920x1080@61i" 79.08 1920 1952 2248 2280 1080 1104 1110 1135 interlace
spoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-06, 08:13 PM   #6
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: Sony Sony KD-30XS955 - interlace

I tried that but it gives me this error:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1920x1080@61i" (width too large for virtual size)

any ideas?
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Admits Cloud is 'Absolutely Inevitable', is 'Considering How This Can be a News Archived News Items 1 06-15-12 09:04 PM
Gaikai ' Sony Deal Never Existed, Says Founder Dave Perry News GAIKAI 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM
Rumor: Sony Cloud Deal Will Make PS3 Backwards Compatible, Stream PS2/PS1 games News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM
Why Buying A Cloud Gaming Company Could Be The Smartest Move Sony Has Made This Gener News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 07:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.