Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-06, 02:18 PM   #1
ukrcald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

hello all.

I've been browsing this forum for a couple of days now and still can't solve my problem.
First a simple question:
Is it possible, with an Asus A8N-VM CSM, to output to a CRT (via analog connector) and a TV simultaneously?

I'm trying for a desktop on the LCD and dvd/video put to the TV.

If it is....

I have the afore mentioned mobo and am running debian etch with 2.6.15 kernel and the latest drivers from the nvidia site.

At the moment I don't care if it's TwinView or not, i'd just like to see that it's possible!!!

I have used nvidia-xconfig and various xorg.configs found in these pages to try to get either a two X screens or a TwinView config to produce what i want, I include my xorg.conf
Can any of you guys see what I'm doing wrong??

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log gives me, among other things, this:

(==) ServerLayout "Layout0"
(**) |-->Screen "Screen0" (0)
(**) | |-->Monitor "Television"
(**) | |-->Device "Device0 (2nd)"
(**) |-->Screen "Screen0 (2nd)" (1)
(**) | |-->Monitor "Monitor0"
(**) | |-->Device "Device0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Keyboard0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Mouse0"
(**) FontPath set to
...
which is sort of what i have in mind, and this:

(II) NVIDIA(1): Using ConnectedMonitor string "CRT-0"
(EE) NVIDIA(1): The requested configuration of display devices is not
(EE) NVIDIA(1): supported in the hardware.
(EE) NVIDIA(1): Failed to unmap registers.
(EE) NVIDIA(1): Failed to unmap registers.
(EE) NVIDIA(1): Failed to free registers.

which is less what i had in mind????

All help greatfully received!
Cheers, Rich

ps here's my xorg.conf
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorgconf.txt (3.2 KB, 137 views)

Last edited by ukrcald; 01-23-06 at 02:34 PM. Reason: tryin to include xorg.conf
ukrcald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-06, 03:04 PM   #2
kenyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

What do you mean by "TV"?
The nvidia 6150 hardware only has support for one RAMDAC which means you can simultaneously output to one analog source and one digital source.
Analog = VGA port or S-Video or composite
Digital = DVI
kenyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-06, 05:34 PM   #3
ukrcald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

hi kanyee
In my case TV = 28" widescreen CRT PAL TV connected by SCART.
Oh!!!! ONE DAC! I think you have ansered my question.
I also think ebay becons for a low cost PCI graphics card!

Thanks for your help.
Cheers, Rich
ukrcald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-06, 11:18 AM   #4
spoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

The ASUS A8N-VM CSM comes with a TV-Out on the motherboard. It does composite and S-Video. However ASUS doesn't include the connector with the motherboard. It's difficult to find though. I got mine through their RMA, 510.839.3777.

1) av-s out cable a8n-vm/csm (pn# 80-c100ba-0100) = $10.00

( also available spdif module (pn# 80-c1t61u-0100a) =$10.00 )

EDIT: Not sure if this is analog connector you were talking about
spoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-06, 05:10 PM   #5
ukrcald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

dude, there is no spoon.
but i shall reply anyway.... :-)

anyway: na, I'm fairly happy with a soldering iron and too northern to spen any money :-)
So i've made my own s-video cable from some old header cable connectors from an old PC case and a ripped apart SCART cable.
Same for the SPDIF, it only needs a capacitor n a resistor to link up to me surround amp.
thanks for the info though.
I think my troubles are due to the fact that my mobo with its 6150 chip only has one DAC. kenyee alerted me to this, but I can't find any other referance to this fundamental truth.
anyway it's -7 here tonight, so i'm going to find my spare extra thick nuclear winter duvet.
night all. RIch
ukrcald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-06, 05:35 PM   #6
kenyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

Rich,

Can you detail how you did the S-video cable (pics if possible? :-) I'm puzzled as to why the Asus module looks so complicated if all you need is a wire. Looks like it has chips and resistors on it.

As for the single RAMDAC, I looked at nVidia's web site and couldn't find anything, so I'm not sure where I saw it. It was in some review where they had a block diagram of the chip. If you look at nVidia's web site, it only mentions a single RAMDAC:
http://www.nvidia.com/page/gpumobo_6..._features.html
but no block diagram where it's a lot more obvious :-P

ken
kenyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-06, 02:24 AM   #7
ukrcald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: a8n-vm csm crt+tv, is this possible?

Hi Ken
the cable is nothing more complicated that that found somewhere like:
http://www.frontx.com/cpx107_2.html
I guess maybe the asus one has some decoupling capacitors or maybe even a low pass filter of some sort to help cut out the splurge from the PC, but my tv image is looks OK.
I guess if there's a chip it could be just a simple op-amp buffer or something to give the signal a little boost, but the header pins on the mobo do contain the Y and C components for s-video....I guess asus want to do the job properly? :-)
As for the single DAC, I guess it makes sense for them to only include one, especially as many people now have digital components... oh and it saves some cash!
I'm just giving up a machine that had a Matrox G500 on it that does have TWO DACs and so can do two independant analog outputs.
Hey ho, the march of technology etc...
Cheers, R
ukrcald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitor makes CRT look bad lothodon NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 06-05-12 02:48 AM
CRT and TV at the same time. sonne NVIDIA Linux 1 10-04-02 02:54 PM
Dual Display with main CRT, and secondary TV-out BlackDogg NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 09:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.