Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-06, 03:25 PM   #25
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

seeker, what font are you using?

fd0 (foxtrot delta zero) is the floppy device.

Code:
sudo umount /dev/fd0
sudo rm -r /mnt
sudo floppy --format /dev/fd0
sudo mount /dev/fd0 /media/floppy
Try cut and pasting into a terminal to avoid typos/transposing/character substition.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:32 PM   #26
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

It's not a font problem, I mistyped the first line. I copy/pasted each of your lines and got the following:
Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo umount /dev/fd0
Password:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo rm -r /mnt
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo floppy --format /dev/fd0
sudo: floppy: command not found
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mount /dev/fd0 /media/floppy
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
wallwalker@linux:~>
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:35 PM   #27
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I tried clicking the desktop icon again and got this error:

"Could not mount device.
The reported error was:
mount: only root can mount /dev/fd0 on /media/floppy"

This apparently means that I have to switch to root. I'll try again in a minute.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:44 PM   #28
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Logged in as root now. Ran the commands again, and got this:

Code:
linux:~ # sudo umount /dev/fd0
umount: /dev/fd0: not mounted
linux:~ # sudo rm -r /mnt
rm: cannot remove `/mnt': No such file or directory
linux:~ # sudo floppy --format /dev/fd0
sudo: floppy: command not found
linux:~ # sudo /dev/fd0 /media/floppy
sudo: /dev/fd0: command not found
linux:~ #
Tried the desktop icon and got this error:

"Could not enter folder /media/floppy."
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:54 PM   #29
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I realized that I had made another typo, so I ran the last 2 commands again and got this:

Code:
linux:~ # sudo floppy --format /dev/fd0
sudo: floppy: command not found
linux:~ # sudo mount /dev/fd0 /media/floppy
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
linux:~ #
It continues to insist on specifying the filesystem type.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 04:00 PM   #30
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I went ahead and switched to a Windows floppy, and when I clicked the desktop icon, it did open a Window showing the files on the floppy. So I guess something did work. The only questions that I have is can I just leave the floppy mounted, and will it stay that way through a reboot?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 07:05 PM   #31
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I thought that this problem was licked, but while attempting to make a Grub Boot floppy, I clicked on the desktop icon, which opened, but was immediately followed with this error message:

Message from syslogd@linux at Wed Feb 22 18:58:55 2006 ...
linux kernel: invalid operand: 0000 [1]

Now the window will not open at all. I have no idea of what this message means, can I get an interpreter?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-06, 10:16 PM   #32
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Floppy Drive

You could have better success from the grub manual,

http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/man...UB-boot-floppy
whig is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy disk drives. LORD-eX-Bu General Hardware 10 10-03-02 09:58 AM
CDRW Drive Doesn't Populate FrozenFlame Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 09-17-02 08:32 PM
New Western Digital drive performance Nemesis General Hardware 6 08-15-02 07:29 AM
cdrw drive died cricket General Hardware 2 08-13-02 09:23 PM
UDMA5 Drive, But Can't Enable Past UDMA2 Phyre NVIDIA Linux 1 08-11-02 04:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.